A meeting with the Match -II

October 15, 2009 at 10:40 am 15 comments

The day dawned; Simran was rather quiet while getting dressed. She wore a simple pink Lucknavi churidar kurta. Mrs. Singh walked to her room and said put some kajal and lipstick at least before you meet the lad, ma this is me and I don’t use make-up and stepped out. Around 5.15 she left from work, drive to The Oberoi would take her at least half an hour.  She was resisting really hard to turn back her car and run away but such a crazy idea will lead her no where.

Sitting in the lobby with the latest book she was reading ‘Passages- Predictable Crisis of Adulthood’, when a tall guy approached her dressed in a formal suit with Rayban sun glasses still on he said, Hi Simran! I am Jai, Jai Rathod and a smile spread across his face. Simran silently nodded her head and they when to 360, the most happening Coffee Shop in Delhi. On any other day she would have made an announcement about going there but today was different. To avoid the awkward silence Jai started the conversation, recognizing you was easier than I thought, and must I mention your latest pictures on FB helped. I really like Delhi; wonder why people crib about the traffic, pollution etc, believe me the city has a soul and that actually attracted me to it. My friends think I am crazy but that’s a fact. No, that’s not crazy at all I love all this about Delhi too. Clearly, having caught her attention he continued. Listen, I should apologize for all that happened at your place I didn’t know my parent will reach your home with the entire family and though I have said this earlier I am in no hurry to tie the knot. Simran just nodded. So you are into the world of imagination, graphics, illustrations et al. Each story, a different perspective, new colours it must be fun to create images from scratch unlike our work where every thing is pre-programmed including people. Simran, laughed, her first since they got talking. You enjoy cooking or eating more he asked. Obviously the latter though now my mother frets over the fact that I never step into the kitchen. Basically I let others do it all. I do what I am good at, works well that way!

Hmm, so how come you got your neighbours go bride hunting for you? The US tag with a Boston Univ stamp should have got you many on matrimonial sites and even in your friends circle? With a cocked eyebrow Jai answered, are you hinting that we should not have been here in first place? See it is simple I don’t know where I will meet the right girl and once I do then the how’s and whys don’t matter, what do you think? Over a cup of Café Mocha, Hot Chocolate and Club Sandwich they discussed many issues from religion to terrorism from working hours to friends, responsibilities at home and importance of financial independence. Simran volleyed at him a series of topics and much to her surprise was impressed with his awareness on issues. Jai too made it clear that a relationship is based on compatibility, transparency and most importantly he did not believe that woman of the house should be left alone to take care of the chores, the secret of a happy life is in doing things together and not leading an independent life, he added firmly. She was taken aback when Jai asked her out for dinner the next day. See, Jai I am really flattered that you want to meet up again but I don’t want my family and yours to get any ideas about this. Frequent meetings and they will think we are getting married. I hope you understand.

I do and that’s why I suggest why tell at home. Come-on it is not that you and I tell our parents about everyone we meet for coffee. But you asked me out for dinner. Well, Jai added with a smile the plan can always be altered to suit our convenience. They met again next day, Simran insisted on paying the bill and he didn’t argue and it became a routine to get off work early and meet for coffee or an early bite. A few weeks later a plan for the weekend was in place she planned to introduce him to Swati over brunch at Potpurri. Well, how bad can it be to meet someone everyday, talking over the phone and exchanging a few harmless messages. She had also made it clear to him that she doesn’t plan to quit her job or become a part-time she just loved what she did and it did not come with a set time there can be late nights. The concept of grand Indian marriages is what put her off, she wanted to have a simple wedding with very limited people, and Jai finished the sentence for her, a gala affair meant inviting all those who didn’t matter and vice-versa. They complemented each other so well but she did not want to admit it, at least not yet. Post brunch Swati nudged Simran and winked as she gave a thumbs-up and they giggled. While Jai looked at them wondering if he missed the joke and slipped his hand through Simran’s for the first time as they crossed the road together.

Later that night, Mrs. Singh came to Simran’s room fishing for an update. Have you two spoken again, should I call his mother? She just looked up at her mother, smiled and continued to read the latest book she had picked, ‘PS: I love you!’ And the mobile beeped- one new message.

Entry filed under: no mind thoughts!.

A meeting with the Match 25 yrs, Can We Please Move On, Now?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mayur  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Are we up for a part III? I dont see a reason why you might reject Jai, unless there is some thing drastic coming up in the next version.

    Nice attempt again, intriguing.

    Reply
  • 2. ray_of_light  |  October 16, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    waitin fr part 3

    Reply
  • 3. Binit Agrawal  |  October 23, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Well Well…Simran dear seems on one hand, knee deep in love wid this guy, and on the other hand, she is confused and startled at the way things are pacing up. Simran, its high time baby. Move on. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Madhav  |  November 11, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Oh unaccepted end.
    Whatever it is but i like the story. Looking forward to see some more story.

    Reply
  • 5. delhizen  |  November 11, 2009 at 10:46 am

    I have ended the story where the readers can take it forward & think what according to them will happen or could have happened next! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Tina Rajan  |  November 28, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    hey jus read A meeting with the Match. When’s Part III going to be out?

    I think there should be some kahani mei twist…if Simran and Jai live happily ever after I would be really mush and predictable…

    Reply
  • 7. delhizen  |  November 30, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Hi Tina,

    You didn’t say if you liked Part 1 & 2? anyway there is no Part III :)! i have written the story till a point from wher my readers can take it further. 🙂

    hope to see you as a regular here!

    Reply
  • 8. Tina Rajan  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Hey,

    By popular demand I think there should be a Part III! Yup a lurker turned regular. Thanks for your comments on my blog 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. delhizen  |  December 4, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    @ Tina: An afterthought that came after reading your latest post; I will let Simran & Jai be together in the end. They should be spared of the late 20s singletons crisis. Especially since they found each other then it will be so unfair to make them part ways :). Its mushy, predictable but HAPPY!

    Must I add, I am self-confessed big time fan of ‘happy love stories’.

    And for more kahani mein twist kinda love stories please do visit my friend Mayur’s blog. I can bet you would want to join his fan club too 🙂

    maxmayur.wordpress.com

    Happy Reading!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Mayur  |  December 4, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    @Delhizen: Thanks for referring my blog. 🙂

    But people get disappointed as they come for mushy ‘happy happy’ love stories… and I disappoint them.

    Anyway, I think it is time you write a new story.

    Reply
    • 11. delhizen  |  December 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      @ Mayur: Tina is looking for stories that have a twist and not mushy and predictable ones like this one. I am sure she will love to read them!

      and yeah since I am a founder member of ‘Mayur’s Love Stories Fan Club’, I can safely say not disappointed by a single story written by you. Each one better than the previous. 🙂

      Yeah I need to write a new story…

      Reply
  • 12. Tina Rajan  |  December 7, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    hey Delhizen,

    🙂 thanks i will def. check it out and get cracking on ur new story.

    Reply
  • 13. saandeep  |  February 25, 2010 at 2:12 am

    Wonderful story!

    I liked it 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. delhizen  |  March 2, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      I am glad that you did!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Swati  |  June 7, 2011 at 11:07 am

    aaaaawwwwwwwwww !!! very cute!!! very me like… 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,595 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Feeds


