Read On

November 27, 2009 at 11:13 am 9 comments

Books are on tweets and so is news and though I like to express in 144 characters too 🙂 but I am still from the old school of media. I need my daily fix of a newspaper and a magazine especially on a Sunday with my cuppa.

While you can tell what makes and is in news in limited words the story behind the headline needs to be read too. Being a media person for me what comes in print is of utmost importance and interest. And Mind you though e-papers are now a trend the Akbhar is not going to go out of fashion either.

Keeping a look out for what is new on the stands, here is my take on the newest in the ‘News Market’

Times of India- CREST-  Delhi, Pune &Mumbaiwallas get to read this thick weekend paper ( Bangalore gets it first edition this Saturday). True TOI style its got everything from news, features, travelogues, food to yeah love stories :)! Basically if you mix reports and stories voila! you got A CREST in hand. Enough to keep you busy for the first half of your Saturday this comes at an additional cost of Rs. 6. The format can be better and so far it is not paid for I mean the editorial content ( so you can trust the info to be true)!

Entrepreneur- A network 18 publication, the group also owns CNBC, CNN-IBN, IBN-7 and many other channels and brings out a series of publications including the Forbes India edition. So post FDI issues and one year of dummy prints Entrepreneur is now 3 issues old. It is in association with the US magazine. Definitely worth a pick. Stories of those who made it big with their ideas and the ones who are climbing up the ladder with their innovative dreams combined with a practical approach. An inspirational sorts and must add the magazine is a hit already and flying off the shelves.  

OPEN- This is my pick of 2009! I love every bit of it. The hard work put in by the team reflects in the way stories are told and done. A weekly on the stand each story makes an engrossing read. The mag narrates current & human interest stories. A break from the usual favourites that our janta has been reading for decades now ( I am sure you know the publications I am referring to). Open has broken away from the old mould and redefined the concept of a Weekly. From a selection of interesting world & national news,  latest on the tech & science front,  defining new trends, fashionesta & films, politics, sports. They do stories with an in depth analytical approach. Basically it covers every subject under the sun but thankfully not in the kitchen sink. The production quality is neat & so is the design. I am not going to go on by listing down my fav articles, just go grab a copy of the magazine guys and discover it yourself.

Entry filed under: Me & Media.

Attack and one more and another one…. ‘No Bar’

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mayur  |  November 30, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    I read Crest once and I asked my vendor to stop sending me the copy every saturday. TOI can some times be very biased. Anyway.

    Entrepreneur magazine is good and interesting. I have subscribed to it.

    Never tried OPEN

    Reply
  • 2. Sapna  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Agreed with you on Times CREST. Just read one on last Saturday. Definitely worth a read.

    Same goes for Entrepreneur.

    Will have to try out OPEN.

    Waiting for my enlightening weekend now 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. delhizen  |  December 2, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      Sappy back to visiting my blog again. Yey! Nice to see you back here 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Ketan  |  December 2, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Hi!

    There used to a a time a few years back when I used to read the Sunday ToI easily for 10 hours in a day!

    But then I started realizing that the real world is very different from the way it is portrayed through the mass media. This especially, when I got to know of the ground realities in Ahmedabad, which were in sharp contrast with the impressions gathered through news presented by the mass media.

    Likewise, for interviews of celebrities I started seeing a pattern, and realized very little of it is spontaneous.

    So nowadays, I hardly try to be updated with the current affairs.

    And anyway, don’t find much time. Whatever little I find, goes in blogging-related activities. 🙂

    But then I appreciate your efforts in reviewing the newer journals.

    While I believe all media houses are generally biased and manipulative, Bennett and Coleman group takes the lead! 😉 I almost consciously avoid their publications! 😀

    With regard to your English, I felt you could use commas at few more instances to improve the readability. But then I also feel I tend to overuse the comma, so you could take my advice with a pinch of salt. 🙂

    Take care.

    Reply
  • 5. delhizen  |  December 2, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    @ Mayur: Buddy give Crest a chance, some good hardworking reporters on the job ( I know some from the team)

    @ Sappy: Share an update on the articles you particularly find interesting, will make for a nice discussion on those subjects.

    @ Ketan: Bennett & Coleman has been clear about their media policies for many years and yet they continue to be Number one. So you can like it or you can hate it but definitely it cannot be ignored!!! Media Houses at times are biased because they are pro one govt or a party but the news value cannot be ignored.Being part of the media industry everything is of importance to me so I keep their policies aside and evaluate from my work perspective 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Prateek  |  December 2, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Interesting, very interesting. I usually rely upon my spies for the latest news. And, you know a few reporters on Crest? Does that make it good or are you just shamelessly advertising it on your blog. 😉
    Adding on to what Ketan said about your english, I too have a suggestion to make. I think you should stop using the alphabet keys on your keboard. That would make the blog a lot cleaner and easy to read. :p
    And take all my words with atleast a 5 kg packet of iodized salt.

    Reply
  • 7. Prateek  |  December 2, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Enough joking. Now a serious question. Which one of the three weeklies have got the best cartoon strips? If they don’t have any, they are useless. I have spoken, end of debate. You may now close this post for any further comments. 😉

    Reply
  • 8. delhizen  |  December 3, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Pats why is that that when we meet you don’t speak up at all. Getting a complete sentence out of your mouth is like a big task and on the blog you talk without a fullstop ( and I am not joking)!!!!!

    As far as knowing the CREST team goes I also happen to know everyone from the Ed to correspondents in the team of Entrepreneur and OPEN and every publication that comes because that’s my line of work.

    I wrote about only three because I like reading them and they stand out from many other new publications on the block.

    And yes, can you start using the alphabet key on your keyboard and post some new articles :)! The poor blog feels ignored and the readers can’t find anything new every time they visit it! And yeah take my comment seriously without any masala or namak. Oh yeah, pick up the paper & magazines and find out who’s got what, I ain’t telling you more.

    @ Ketan: I hope you are reading my comments, I do reply 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. tina  |  December 3, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    hey,

    The Open is awesome, my personal new favorite after Outlook.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,297 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


