Hamara Bajaj

December 12, 2009 at 6:01 pm 16 comments

Bajaj Scooter, a possession to be proud of for almost all middle class homes during the eighties and mine was no different. I still remember going for those joyrides with my dad on our blue Bajaj. As I come from a joint family where all kids had to go together for every outing, four of us (three sat on the back seat and one in the front) used settle ourselves and waited for dad to kick start it. I learnt how to ride it too – It was a cool thing you know ;)!

Infact, my first glimpse of the world was from the back seat of our Bajaj Scooter where my mom sat holding me a few days after I was born. We actually grew up together it took me to the school, market, movies, ice cream outings….

Though the scooter was eventually replaced by a Maruti 800, dad refused to sell it since it was the first vehicle he bought after he got married and it was not just a thing for him.  But had sentiments attached to it which made it precious.

I remember, about a decade back our neighbour had requested dad to lend him the scooter for a day so that he could take his new bride for an outing. Instead dad handed him the keys and said, “Let the scooter be part of your life now.”

And yeah, the jingle of the Bajaj advertisement is still as fresh in my mind ‘Buland Bharat Ki Buland Awaaz, Hamara Bajaj, Hamara Bajaj’…

You got any story of the famous scooter? If yes, then do share it with us! 🙂

Entry filed under: COL- Circle of Life!.

‘No Bar’-II Divide & Rule…

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gils  |  December 12, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    well…one famous scooter whom i knew was my roomie…he always “scooted” even before the cards were drawn in poker game!!! 😀 😀 nice blog u’ve got 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Pallavi  |  December 12, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks Gils! for sharing the story, visiting my blog and complimenting it 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Savitha  |  December 12, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Scooter!! Bajaj!! I have a story, I have a story!!

    We were vacationing our LKG holidays at my maternal grandparent’s place, our uncle owned a bajaj. One morning, the uncle checked his fuel tank and commented,”Low fuel, have to get ready early, so I can fill the tank on the way to office”. my cousin who was listening to this, got a brilliant idea and when all of us were indoors, enacted it!!

    He picked a few stones from the street and dropped into the fuel tank(you remember the thirsty crow story???) and proudly announced uncle, “You need no go too early, I’ve taken care the fuel tank is full!” 👿 And explained how he filled!! LOL!!

    Yeah, read that they are planning to stop producing Bajaj scooters. It was a familiar name in most of our families! missing the look and sound!!

    Reply
    • 4. delhizen  |  December 12, 2009 at 7:35 pm

      @savitha;that was one funny story;must say u got a smart cousin..how did the uncle react to this help;).. me stll laughing :

      Reply
    • 5. Sapna  |  December 16, 2009 at 12:02 pm

      @Savitha: Me too waiting to knw how your uncle reacted 😀

      Reply
  • 6. Gaurav  |  December 12, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I read the news.
    They were not successful in the scooter market in the recent times.

    Reply
  • 7. Prateek  |  December 12, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I learned to ride the two wheeler on a Bajaj Super. My grandfather owned it. Father had a LML Vespa. Though we hardly used them, they were still there. My family preffered to travel by cars, which we had owned since the 1950’s. Grandfather was crazy about mechanical things, thats why he had bought a scooter. But it was quite a different experience riding a scooter. You feel free on a two wheeler, unlike a car. But then the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.
    And yes unlike you I have never shared the pinion seat with anyone. I had no one to share it with. So I don’t have much memories of the scooter.
    Seriously, I envy you. You have had lots of fun and still do.

    Reply
  • 8. Smita  |  December 13, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Oh the ever omnipresent Bajaj scooter 🙂 we’ve had one since I was 3 yrs old and now that I’m, well lets just say, much older 😉 we STILL have it. Mum and dad sometimes go riding on the scooter to the market instead of the car. apparently it makes them feel younger at heart 🙂
    Beautiful post!

    Reply
  • 9. Bikram  |  December 14, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Hey old memories, Yeah I have a crazy one .. My friend Ravi he is in States now, well he had this crazy idea to change the Kick of the scooter to the ones like in Auto-Rickshaws.. you know its a handle and you pull it up with ur hand… only this was a push.. SO imagine you are in going on the Road dividing sector 15 and secotr 11 in Chandigarh.. THe scooter stops right in Front of GCG.. and there is Mr Ravi ARM WRESTLING with the handle of the scooter to Start 🙂 fresh memories it brings…

    Reply
  • 10. Mayur  |  December 14, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Ahem! A correction. It is ‘Buland Bharat ki Buland Tasweeeeeeeer…… Humara Bajaj. Humara Bajaj’

    My dad too owned one. And I sold it to buy a Kawasaki 125 during my college days 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. jj  |  December 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Hey, beautiful memoir of a Bajaj 🙂
    Trust me many of us have that sentimental attachment to ‘hamara bajaj’ brand that almost everyone identified with.

    Reply
  • 12. Madhav::..::\m/  |  December 20, 2009 at 9:17 am

    My papa using Bajaj since 1986. Miss you Hamara Bajaj. Buland bharat ki buland taswir

    Reply
  • 13. Saumya  |  December 23, 2009 at 5:15 am

    Wow! Who doesn’t have memories of Bajaj Chetak? I’ve blogged about it here at

    http://nourishncherish.wordpress.com/2009/12/22/hamara-bajaj-how-i-saved-my-brothers-life/

    Good article.

    Reply
  • 14. Nags  |  February 4, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    u know what i dont see a single scooter on roads these days! why are they all banned?

    Reply
  • 15. Raju Bist  |  May 15, 2010 at 9:27 am

    I learned to ride on a Lambretta (1958 model), the one which had these deadly curves at the back. I was only about 13 at that time and I used to drive it to my Dad’s office (he was the Chief Designer in an engineering firm). I used to get a big kick when the girls working in the company would say, “Arey dekho kitna chhota ladka aur scooter chala raha hain!”
    Later, our family graduated to Bajaj Super and Bajaj Chetak before going in for cars but I still remember my days with my Lamby as some of my most memorable ‘growing up’ memories.

    Reply
    • 16. delhizen  |  May 15, 2010 at 11:59 am

      I have seen ‘Lamby’ as a vintage vehicle- part of hertiage automobile drives 🙂 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,790 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


