…and Carry On!

January 20, 2010 at 1:11 pm 18 comments

There are days when everyone tests your patience levels. Then there are days when everything possible that could go wrong, does go wrong and leaves you on the edge of frustrations. And then there are also times when work and pressure will be so tightly interlocked that you can feel the burden mounting. Actually all this tends to happen on the same day!

I do get touchy, I do feel the heat, I am ready to take off my temper….I know losing sanity of mind is so easy but, I managed to escape unharmed, rather got away from this ‘oh! no not again’ phase without hurting anyone….pheew!

Every time something that could irritate me or pull me down happens I just apply these simple principles and most of the time if not always they work!

  • Challenge is to sound pleasant even though I am not in my ‘how can I help you mood’. This happens when all coordinators in the client office insist on talking to me 10 times for that smallest clarification.. I take a deep breath before answering the phone, limit the conversation to a few seconds. Hang up! another deep breath and tell myself, he is doing his job!

 

  • When everyone wants their task to be done on top most priority basis. And that’s not all, they want it to be done in the few next minutes of discussion.. Only if I had a magic wand, alas! Buy a few minutes, call back and then get into a mode of explaining them how PR and we work…

 

  • When you have explained a colleague step 1,2,3,4 for executing an assigned task.After the day has gone by the colleague tells you can you explain it to me again, I have managed to accomplish step 1. Take a deep breath again and say a nice thank you ( at least he/she tried) and sit back to finish the task.

 

  • When prospective clients haggle with you over the proposed fee…hello! we are not selling vegetables here…But smile again and get into a cycle of discussions. This is it or nothing! It can swing either way but our principles and work ethics are not for sale or on discount!
  • When hard work every time is not equal to immediate results. But then calmness does the trick. Figure out an alternate route to the achieving the goal.. trust me! this is even more rewarding.

Oh and my once in a blue moon trick, I call it the tear therapy. Just like when a glass is filled up to the brim and chances are that water will spill over and it is better to pour it out, exactly the same way. A few tears and an immediate relief….! Please Note : I don’t cry because I am upset but because I am stressed and there is a difference in the two 🙂

I go for a walk post work, listen to music, talk on the phone only with the very selective few who will sense the strain in my voice just with a hello! Keep the rest at bay else I can hurt them and lose my temper on the slightest nudge.

And yes, praises and affection in such a situation take time to have their good effect on me. Of course it does help, just that I am not accepting that it does 😉

So, moral of the story is; everything is going to work out just fine! Sky will never fall and I can survive after all 🙂 !!

Entry filed under: COL- Circle of Life!.

Redefining the Way You Shop! This Sunday is all set to Rock!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mayur  |  January 20, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    All is not well eh? Is it?

    Take a chill pill pals. We are all surrounded by idiots… ad idiots can comment on your blog to tell you how to overcome stress. 🙂

    Ignore, ignore…

    Keep moving! Teri (dot) (dot) ki (dot (dot) bol ke has deneka.

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:32 am

      Remember the ‘teri’ from RDB.. that’s my all time fav!

      Reply
  • 3. Prateek  |  January 20, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    🙂 Just sending a smile to ease your tension.

    Reply
    • 4. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:32 am

      🙂 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. tangyorangesour  |  January 21, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Hmm… it’s 3 idiots reincarnation – aaal izz well 😀

    Reply
    • 6. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:33 am

      Yep Tang now… from wailing to being Well… all goodize now!

      Reply
  • 7. ranjith  |  January 21, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    nice article….opps galore to experiment your principles ! But yeah, i am a big fan of your cheerful attitude !

    Reply
    • 8. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:33 am

      RB.. Fan? did you say that to cheer me up… ? anyway I can’t be sad for long. Smile is my favourite accessory while getting ready for a new day

      Reply
  • 9. Sapna  |  January 21, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    All in a day’s work 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:34 am

      yeah babes.. you got it!

      Reply
      • 11. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:34 am

        btw it was lovely chatting up with you for more than an hr… we should do that more often

  • 12. Binit Agrawal  |  January 21, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Amazing post. And great Attitude. 🙂

    Reply
    • 13. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:34 am

      Thanq Thanq

      Reply
  • 14. Saumya  |  January 22, 2010 at 3:11 am

    🙂 Nice going girl. Here is another thing that can help you. I call it the reverse osmosis method. You like it when people give you a word of praise right? Do the same for others. For ex: if the guy who just can’t get to Step 2 bothers you, first try complimenting him heavily on accomplishing step 1. You’ll see he will try harder for step 2 and mostly get to step 3 by himself.

    Also, even if it is doesn’t directly impact you, have a good word (something specific – not “You’re awesome” kind of thing), and pretty soon, the same people will lighten up when they talk to you.

    Reply
    • 15. delhizen  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:35 am

      🙂 🙂 oh the kids around me love me for that.. sachhi.. not trying to pat myself on the back but thats a fact! I sit with the newbies to teach them everything even if that means going over the sam thing 100 times! They are high on my priority list.

      Infact my only grouse is they wait till the last moment to come and discuss. An important lesson is you gotta a prob speak up that very minute and sort it out rather than wait till the end. My patience & praise is no help to them if the client loses his head 🙂

      Reply
  • 16. asit dhal  |  February 27, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    u r taking excellent steps to solve ur own problems……

    about crying….that’s true !!!!

    Reply
    • 17. delhizen  |  February 27, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      Well all I will say is I gotta figure out the solution for my problem and then crib about it!! It’s fair.

      and like i said ‘everything is going to work out just fine! Sky will never fall and I can survive after all’ … its applicable for everyone!

      Reply
  • 18. Swati  |  June 8, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    hhahah…My bible this is going to be 🙂 hugss!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,615 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Feeds


