Life Does Come Cheap in India

February 15, 2010 at 2:44 pm 16 comments

I was watching a movie when the bomb went off in Pune and by the time I got home my Grandfather was ready to fire us all, what if the explosion happen in cinema halls here. Why can’t you stay inside? A couple lost both their kids, and so many died, what if it was you?

Nothing seemed to calm him down. The only thing I could tell him then was fatal explosions are a part of our life now and because of fear we can’t sit at home. The unanswered question is where next?And if no one except the bombers know the answer and the Govt and security agencies can’t figure it out either then don’t expect me to sit at home!

Anyway, why do we expect anything from the Govt or the security forces. They are simply not interested in who dies and how. Why should they be? Life is sold by the dime in our COUNTRY. Even people have realised no one will come to our rescue and we our own guardians and saviours.

And what do the ministers do, they make an appearance at the scene of blast and at the hospital to see the victims and get photographed. Oh yes, announce compensations for families of those who died and the injured.

Only if they realised life maybe cheap for and worth a few thousands and lakhs in their books but not for those who lost their irreplaceable friend -family in that incident….

Are these explosions not loud enough to wake up the sleeping politicians and Govt agencies? Well, I think they have actually turned a deaf ear to the sounds and a blind eye to horrific sights.

Have become immune to these events too???

Entry filed under: no mind thoughts!.

Don’t be a Hapless Spectator to a slient Heart Attack Groove Away….

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Prateek  |  February 15, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Nice post Pal. Life is really cheap. And the way we fight amongst ourselves over trivial issues, no wonders the terrorists are having a field day. Politicians are interested in votes. This vote bank politics has ensured that we will always be a developing nation and never a developed one. And no the explosions are not enough to wake them up. They have sold their souls and are so deep in muck that nothing can wake them up now.

    Reply
  • 2. Mayur  |  February 15, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    I think we have become immune indeed. After all haven’t you guys become immune to the fog and we to the humidity? Terrorism will soon be like that.

    No matter how much we discuss, we cant do any thing. We just cant!!!

    Reply
    • 3. Prateek  |  February 15, 2010 at 5:53 pm

      I disagree mayur. We can do a lot of things. We can nay we have to change the system. We cannot sit idle for long. A concrete change.We just need to figure it out. Day follows night, there is always light at the end of a dark tunnel.
      It will come, a change will come. And that day human life will not be cheap and peace will be everywhere. I know it is hard but we need to keep our hopes alive. We can’t give up.

      Reply
  • 4. Mayur  |  February 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    The fact still remains that we haven’t done any thing yet. I agree that I’m acting like a timid common man, waiting to be saved or save myself if some one is willing to tell me how to do it.

    Let us not build castles in the air.

    Reply
    • 5. Prateek  |  February 15, 2010 at 6:10 pm

      No something concrete. Will you join me if I take the initiative? Yes, you have already answered this question. I may come as a rash and immature kid to you guys but I believe that togethor we can. Give me some time and I will have a complete modus operandi ready. I will prove that we are not a lost country. And no I will not do anything immature ar rash. Just have faith.

      Reply
  • 6. Prateek  |  February 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    We can rise sir. We can create a better and safer India. We are not a lost case. But we will be if good people like you lose faith.

    Reply
  • 7. Sapna  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    You have hit the nail on the head Pallavi. We have indeed become immune to the blasts and most of us take the approach that if death is coming it will find us anywhere and it cant be avoided.

    To sit at home is not the option but it is time we translate the collective will to change our country into action.

    People have taken initiatives for a more eco-friendly existence. Nobody expects the govt. or politicians to come up with a modus operandi for a greener earth but they have found their own little ways to help. I hope a similar collective approach develops aiming for a better society as well.

    @Patty: A leader in the making??

    Reply
  • 8. delhizen  |  February 16, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    @ Sappy.. all I will say there is a difference between planting tree and planting bombs !! While we ‘common man’ can curb cutting of trees, go green and make our city/country plastic free and all such related jazz but can we stop bombs from going off??? I have my serious doubts !

    @ Patty: If can accomplish what you wish to, it will be a readymade solution for ‘world peace’ ! All the best !

    Reply
  • 9. tangyorangesour  |  February 18, 2010 at 12:30 am

    Hi Pallavi,

    American Embassy @ Calcutta – Gunfire by motorist. Time early morning. Year – Can’t recall(perhaps 2001). Where was I ? Passing by the same place to reach my school. Result? – Till date guards are posted in front of it (armed).

    German Bakery, Pune – Where was I ? About to leave for the same place to grab a bite. Why am I alive? I was busy playing mafia wars and was late.

    Terrorist activities doesn’t scare me. Immune, Yes. Big talker, No.
    False Hope, heard many.

    Care, changes from day to day.

    Talk the talk. Walk the walk.

    Time to change. The time is NOW. Who’s doing anything? Not me. Are you? Doubt it.

    Does this reply make any sense? Does rambling does? Perhaps not. Then why did I even reply. Frustration.

    It’s my reply to the post along with the replies.

    Reply
    • 10. Smita  |  February 21, 2010 at 6:47 pm

      Wonderful comment tangy!

      Reply
  • 11. snowleopard  |  February 18, 2010 at 1:51 am

    I wrote a new post with reference to your blog. I didn’t know how to send a trackback, so am leaving a link here. I hope you don’t mind.

    http://unpredictableblog.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/we-can-do-it/

    Reply
  • 12. bikram  |  February 18, 2010 at 2:13 am

    hmm yeah life is cheap, the problem is that as you say no one cares whatsoever, we will ourselves forget what happened in a few days to come. As we forgot the rest of the things.

    The problem is that our government is not ready to take any action, otherwise HOW CAN such a thing can happen, For examples there are cricket matches held, a few days back when rahul gandhi went on mumbai Darshan .. everything happened fine, why is that. Because the GOVERNMENT wanted everything to go smooth.

    If the govt wants it can stop all this, the problem is there are too many loopholes and the officials are not doing what they are suppsoed to be doing, passing the parcel is going on…

    Anyway sorry to have taken so much space.

    Reply
  • 13. Saumya  |  February 18, 2010 at 6:52 am

    Oh god! That was terrible. Well, the only thing we can do is make sure we live our lives the way we want to, and influence enough people to emulate us.

    Education is the only savior, and unfortunately that is the first thing fundamentalists deny to be a part of.

    Reply
  • 14. ray of light  |  February 20, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    i call it the new modern day epidemic(sic)! it happens so often to us cos we think it wont happen to us, we all need to be more aware n alert in general.. n remember, yes it can happen to us!

    Reply
  • 15. Smita  |  February 21, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Good post. Life indeed has become cheap, what with bomb blasts occuring almost every other day, sometimes in major cities, sometimes in smaller one’s, how can one really be assured to be safe?

    Pune was a SHOCK for me. I spent almost 4 and half years of my life there and I thought Pune was way too special to be attacked. I laugh now at myself for entertaining such stupid thoughts. No place is safe. I can walk outside of my hostel and there could be a blast on the main road. I could be buying shoes in a mall and the next thing I know is half of it has been ripped apart.

    Bikram, do you really think even if the Govt KNEW it would make a shred of difference? chidambaram was too quick to retort that the intelligence had a bleak idea about a terrorist attack but couldn’t pin point the LOCATION. So really how did the Govt knowing about the eventuality of such an attack really HELP the 15 people who died?

    No one is safe, no place is safe and nothing the Govt does or even the people do can ENSURE that tomorrow when I walk on the road, I’ll reach my destination safe and sound. All one can do is hope that terrorists are not planning on dropping the next bomb anywhere near their vicinity.

    That is all I do.

    Reply
  • 16. saandeep  |  February 25, 2010 at 1:51 am

    Well written, yeah these attacks have became part and parcel of life!

    What can we do?

    The government can do something to increase the police force 4 fold! for around 100 crores of population how many policemen we have?

    I think if we can increase the force we can avoid few of these incidents!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,292 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


