C-Calling!

May 10, 2010 at 4:58 pm 6 comments

Can’t remember when was the last time I felt that some other city apart from Delhi could be home for me… I was in Chandigarh last week for a conference and you know what fellas, I completely fell in love with the city. So much so that I yearn to be a C-Zen now!

When I moved to Chd from Ambala in 1999 to do my under-grad it was the second best place for me (Delhi was rated No.1). It was there I tasted freedom and understood that with independence comes responsibility. I loved it and enjoyed every bit of my three years, except the hourly torture in the horribly boring French class. The language as I was told was easy but the teacher wasn’t. A faux pas (one of the few French words from my vocab) on my part to have taken the subject.

Chd is the only city I know which had the ‘world famous’ in Punjab Geri route* and the concept of day discs, because of strict hostel hours for people like me (sigh)!

Everyone knows the city as the best planned in our country but I call it the city of beautifully landscaped round-about(s), huge parks/gardens, a clean lake and magnificent villas. It is home to the rich Punjabis, retired Army and other Govt officials, politicos and influential lawyers of the two states and yet the city lacked a soul!

College got over and I moved to the city of my dreams only to go back again in 2007 to handle a personal crisis. Since then made once in a six month trip to attend to the matters of importance and never really cared to explore it.

This trip for me was not going to be any different, but it was an eye opener. Met ever- so –affectionate people by the dozen who didn’t let you move from their office without a cup of chai, samosa. I even lost the count of how many I had in three days.  Infact thanks to the hospitality I got a little late for a meeting with the ed-in-chief of The Tribune and finally had to tell my host, ‘I can’t even use traffic jam as an excuse here’.

The night life is quite active too and the best part is that the city doesn’t go to sleep at seven now :)! The best bakery in the entire North India is there too. Those who visiting Chd must stop by at Nik Baker’s in sector 35 and try all you can (my recommendations; Oreo shake, cookies, gelatos and the melt-in-your mouth Brownie)

Now, tell me how can I not get tempted to go there for good? I guess, Delhi has to perk-up to keep a hold on me ;). But I am glad I do have the stamp of being a C-Zen even though it was a short stint it did leave an impression that will last a lifetime.

* Geri route – a route made of three circles covering sector 10-11 that covers two Girls colleges sandwiched between two boys colleges.

Entry filed under: COL- Circle of Life!.

It’s about ‘Us & Ours’ Enough of ‘Mum-ism’

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mayur  |  May 10, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Quite nicely described. I love that part of the world. Although I have been on that route twice, I never got any chance to explore the region. I like the northern region, especially the north west region in the northern belt.

    I’d like to explore the rural Punjab and Haryana, heard a lot of good things about it. May be I’ll get a chance some day.

    Reply
    • 2. Prateek  |  May 10, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      Next time when you come here, take out time and you will be shown every nook and corner of Punjab

      Reply
    • 3. delhizen  |  May 14, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      Yep.. you must come by.

      Reply
  • 4. Prateek  |  May 10, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    :)…..Thats the best comment I can think of right now. Don’t worry, Delhi will not let you go 😉 Though I agree Chandigarh is quite beautiful and my ‘Naankes’ are in Chandigarh.

    Reply
    • 5. delhizen  |  May 14, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      yiou never know Pats… 😉

      Reply
  • 6. ray of light  |  May 16, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    well written post, i quite like chandigarh too, it may nt go to sleep by 7pm, mayb by 9pm thou! 😛 have tht relationshp wth pune.. evrytm i go thr, i nevr wna leav.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,292 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


