Seven at Soul

June 8, 2010 at 3:26 pm 11 comments

I remember when I got an offer for this job (my current) I was practically cornered by my family to take it up.  The company- a PR firm was a start-up, it would not involve long hours like journalism and most importantly I will get to learn something new; is how it was put across.

My interview was over a dessert at India habitat Centre. My boss (still is) explained me that it was important that I should stick to it for at least a year and I thought why not after all how bad can it be? So a commitment was made. I was only 21 then and felt top of the world thinking that I am youngest ever to earn in my family of intellects.

Only if life was easy… my first six months involved training at an associate’s office and within the first week I was ready to run-away. My parents were visiting me and I casually announced to them that this is it; this profession is not my cup of tea.

What followed was a shock- leave the job and pack your bags for good. Dad said commitment is a commitment and no matter what, has to be fulfilled. So what if it was verbal, why did I not think it through?

I hated every minute of it, I cried my heart out. It was a toughie and I was unable to get the hang of my work. Hours were long and no fun. Anu, My boss at that time was a senior editor with a national daily and I had little interaction with her.

Finally, I realized if I have to do it then might as well learn it. At least after a year I will move on with something in hand. And the fun started, I fell in love with it. Eventually we moved into our office space. Anu also took it up full time and spent time to teach me nuances of our profession. My English improved ( imagine if I still struggle with it today how bad it was back then) and so did my personality.

Handling clients and dealing with them independently gave a boost to my confidence. So after I completed one year Anu asked me, ‘So what now, you want to move on and go back to journalism’? I smiled and said, ‘no way- I won’t barter this for anything’ and rest as they say is history.

It’s been seven years today! When I look back I laugh at my foolishness. Thanks dad for insisting that I should stay, thanks Anu for being the person you are… without you life would never be the way it is- almost perfect :). Today the world knows me as her daughter and I feel proud to be a founder member of our company which has grown over the years.

Someone asked me once to describe my role and SM as an organization the reply till date remains the same, “I am a growing fish in a growing pond.”

Entry filed under: COL- Circle of Life!.

The Scissor Works Visa to Videsh

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Prateek  |  June 8, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    🙂 As a friend I am happy for you. The pond called soul media will soon grow into an ocean and you will evolve into a big blue whale. Congratulations on seven years of colourful joblife(add one more treat to your list of pending treats 😉 ) and many more such years. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:23 pm

      Thanks for the wishes Patty.
      PS: I would love be a blue whale in stature but not in size… (Scary thought ;))

      Reply
  • 3. Sapna  |  June 9, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Congrats Pallavi!!!

    “Growing fish in a growing pond” is a wonderful description. From struggling to get hold of the job to one of founders of the company, You are now an inspiration to many and growing in that role everyday. All the best for many more such years to come. 😀

    Every venture has its own gestation period and our ability to endure it and stick to it determines our success in the venture. When we come out of it, we would have mastered the art, happy to look back and just glad for having stayed 🙂 and nothing better than your story proves that.

    Reply
    • 4. delhizen  |  June 9, 2010 at 10:53 am

      sappy, “When we come out of it, we would have mastered the art, happy to look back and just glad for having stayed and nothing better than your story proves that.”

      Can’t tell you how important these words are for me.. thanks for the wishes!

      Reply
  • 5. Ankita  |  June 9, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Wow. That was a heart-warming tale. It’s disheartening to hear the stories of people hating their jobs & quitting.

    It’s great that you didn’t give up then and now you love your job.
    Wishing many more sweet experiences with your organisation. 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. delhizen  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:14 am

      Thanks Ankita for your nice thought and a sweet msg! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. jakyastikpress  |  June 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Some bloggers are just so prolific about their posts. I clicked your comment from verbosity and you’re just superb.

    Actually, when I decided and passed a week studying Accountancy for CA exams, everything just sucked. And it sucks till date. Maybe, your commitment thing is what I should follow.

    Thanks. That definitely cheered me up.

    Reply
    • 8. delhizen  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      First, ThankyeeeeeW for the good adjectives you have showered here!

      Second, I am glad I was able to cheer u up. I wasn’t too sure about posting this in first place but now I am glad I did!

      Reply
      • 9. Jaky Astik  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:42 pm

        Actually I hadn’t updated my wordpress profile for quite a long time. Bear with me. An even dumb image is on it’s way 😉

        And thanks. It sure helped. In fact, we are so lucky to find answers to our confusions in the worst of time, at the most unexpected places. And that’s why we believe in cosmos, I guess.

  • 10. BullsEye  |  June 10, 2010 at 1:44 am

    Hey a big Congrats is on the cards..Awesome !!

    Must admire you for all the courage and tough guts shown in the tough tenure..And see you have come out tremendous..Great to see a success story..
    Kudos to your Dad for making you honor the oral commitment..
    All the best for the future..
    And please stop saying your English is Bad..Modesty is good, but in acceptable doses 😉
    Cheers

    Reply
    • 11. delhizen  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:12 pm

      Hey thanks Rahul for the praise and encouragement! I think its time my dad starts reading my blog 🙂

      And if you knew me 7 yrs back you would know what I mean when I refer to my English. I used to fumble; my grammar was terrible etc… only reason of mentioning it is to tell ppl who are in similar situation – if I can do it so can anybody else. nothing is unachievable

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,595 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Feeds


