Visa to Videsh

June 14, 2010 at 4:02 pm 15 comments

A friend of mine was working in UK till two years ago when the recession ate-up his job. He didn’t even try to find one here and his excuse was, ‘I can’t stand the attitude of people here’. What the hell I used to think and came to a conclusion that basically he is one of those who will happily be a chauffer in London but will turn down a respectable job in India. Such fixation with foreign shores…

He tried and did everything he could that could put him back on the plane but no opportunity came along. In the mean time he has decided to get married. I was wondering who wants to marry a guy who has no source of income and lives with an OCD of settling abroad. A girl with a UK citizenship who’s parents want her to marry a boy from their desh. She is born and brought-up there but her folks insist that her dullah should be a ‘desi boy’ and shaddi will happen only at their pind in Punjab. Such attachment to their homeland (sic)

They have not met each other but so what the criteria of requirement matches. The dude gets his visa to Queen’s land and the damsel gets an Indian guy.

Such mentality drives me nuts….

Entry filed under: no mind thoughts!.

Seven at Soul B’day of yet another blog

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mayur  |  June 14, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Namaste London?

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  June 14, 2010 at 4:21 pm

      umm.. not really. they came back to India, the girl didn’t know she will be married off. here its more like bye-bye India and both know what they are in for…

      but the point is- this is such a non-sensical trend from the so called educated ppl

      Reply
  • 3. kid  |  June 15, 2010 at 6:23 am

    “respectable job” ??
    There is no job, in the world which should not be respected, let alone shunned. Besides, the general attitude of ‘Indians’ on respectable job is one which pays, and nothing else.

    And about, ‘I can’t stand the attitude of people here’. I agree many times. I admit I hate the Delhite attitude, one reason I avoid coming to Delhi totally.

    And when you look at things from a very different perspective, sometimes yes, some things just drive you nuts about ‘Indians’.

    Everyone has different reasons to choose, and yes they have reasons. Sometimes it is wrong to make assumptions!!!

    As I mentioned in one of my post, I love my country but it is the people which drive me away many times.

    Reply
    • 4. delhizen  |  June 21, 2010 at 4:01 pm

      Okay kido- I am not making any assumptions here- this story is straight from the horses mouth- the guy is marrying a girl only becoz she has UK citizenship and I strongly feel against it!

      by respectable I meant a decent job- every job is as good as you are at it… !

      Reply
  • 5. Prateek  |  June 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Nice post……
    I guess you already know my personal views on people who want to leave their country. I believe my repeating them will take up lot of space and moreover last time I hurt a few people when I listed my reasons on Mayur’s Blog.

    But this marrying a green card holder for the sake of getting a citizenship is just pathetic and takes the cake.
    I have a couple of relatives who have done this. I won’t name them but frankly I am ashamed of them.

    Reply
  • 6. BullsEye  |  June 16, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Hmmm..Arrange(ment) marriage..I am so surprised that the girl agreed to marry a non working guy, i am not sure the guy will get any respect in his house. And whatever bad is there in India, I can tell 10 things more which are good. But then who needs people like this here, who dreams dollars or pounds.Let them be the scum of those countries.

    Reply
    • 7. delhizen  |  June 21, 2010 at 4:05 pm

      hmm… agreed!

      Reply
  • 8. tangyorangesour  |  June 18, 2010 at 1:02 am

    Well, there’s always a silver lining… umm.. hear me out here people!! I know I might come off strange but hey.. just think about it..

    If they happen to come back on occasions then its always good to ask them get some good electronic stuffs 😛

    I know I’m sounding selfish..but why not? We all gotta get a good deal out of it, right?

    Just don’t tell me.. mera bharat mahan..all that is just slogan…

    Reply
    • 9. delhizen  |  June 21, 2010 at 4:07 pm

      oky no slogans here- strictly politically incorrect stuff 😉

      Tangy dear, we got other friends and family overseas for the materialistic gains- don’t need ppl with no dignity around.. hmm..

      Reply
  • 10. Pankaj Batra  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Its the same story in most part of North India.
    They want to just settle abroad (Aus/Canada/UK/US), no matter what they have to do for that. Very sad.

    Reply
    • 11. delhizen  |  June 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      okay why only north India? btw this dude is from West. it is not localised to a population

      Reply
  • 12. Gourav Sharma  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Totally agree with “KID” There is no respectable job in these world and to me also respectable job would be the one who will pay me more. and i think Right now i am on Respectable job in AFRICA 😀

    Reply
    • 13. delhizen  |  June 21, 2010 at 4:12 pm

      I don’t know what you mean by no job in the world is respectable but yes how you do the job and the approach towards it does get you respect and that does count!!!

      Reply
  • 14. Karan A  |  June 21, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Lol… All Izz well! Crazy world!

    You have a nice blog, simple and straight thoughts!

    Reply
    • 15. delhizen  |  June 21, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      🙂 Merci ! for the good words

      keep visiting…!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,615 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Feeds


