Back to the Buses

June 23, 2010 at 2:53 pm 10 comments

Thanks to the steep rise in the auto fares announced by the Delhi Govt yesterday, a round trip is beyond my budget now. So, I am back to traveling in the over-crowded, never on time, 15 minutes per stop (excluding the stop when they spot a potential rider) blue line buses.

Eagerly waiting for the CP to Saket metro line to become operational, my only hope for a comfortable and traffic free ride.

Entry filed under: Delhi-ghtfully Yours!.

Summer of 99 Something Good

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mayur  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Come to Mumbai. We have the best managed city bus system in India (Arguably).

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      first you get a good monsoon and on time in Mumbai followed by a well managed bus system.. hmm, m getting envious now! really.

      Reply
    • 3. Prateek  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:19 pm

      Bus transport system sbetter and better as you go towards the Southern part of India. People in Bangalore say that their’s is the best in the country.

      Reply
      • 4. delhizen  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:21 pm

        Thanks! this news makes me so happy…

        How does it help me??? stop making me feel more bad about it

  • 5. Prateek  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Yup the rise was almost double. Bluelines do stop a lot and for eternity. And lady when I once told you that when the metro line is complete you can use that, you went after my life saying that there is no metro station near your house. πŸ™‚

    Anyway you can always keep sitting on that line for a little longer and get down at Delhi University or Azadpur and any of the 2 metro stations in between. All of them are close to where I stay and you won’t even need to change metros (it is a diret route).
    You will be treated Kebabs and Sausages amongst other delicacies before dropping you at Daryaganj. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • 6. delhizen  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm

      Hellow! know your routes first… CP is not exactly in my neighbourhood- I will have to take a bus till there and then metro to saket.

      and do you have any clue how far is Univ or Azadpur from DaryaganJ? What you are suggesting is jigzaw route in which apart from taking the metro i also change buses.

      crazzy !!

      Reply
      • 7. Prateek  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:26 pm

        It is a 10-15 minutes drive via ringroad (13 km). You see with the number of flyovers you skip the redlight and the traffic. It took me 10 minutes(by the watch) to reach Delhi Gate and that was last month, and I wasn’t overspeeding.
        And thank you, I know my routes. I have been living in Delhi for more than 2 decades. CP is not that far from your place. Should be about 4-5 km.

        P.S. Do you think I would let you go back in a bus if you are my guest?

      • 8. delhizen  |  June 24, 2010 at 4:35 pm

        Pats, before we have an argument over it- call it off !!!

        Have you travelled in a bus for 6 yrs- where even covering 5 kms can also take up to half n hr ???

        PS: I can’t be your guest every day?? Paschim Vihar to Daryaganj is not less that 30-45 mins in a car…period. and try going to someone’s place after a hard day at work.

      • 9. Prateek  |  June 24, 2010 at 8:56 pm

        OK, but I never said always. You can be my guest sometimes. πŸ™‚ It is just an invitation. I am not enforcing a rule. And why would we argue over such a trivial issue?
        And now may I say one last thing. I live in Shalimar Bagh not Paschim Vihar. Shalimar Bagh is 10-15 minutes drive from Daryaganj. We get the supplies of the clinic from Bhagirath Palace twice a month. Pashchim Vihar is another 20-25 minutes drive from Shalimar Bagh.
        Peace πŸ™‚

  • 10. Mayur  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I wonder why this debate was taken on the blog post. No context and no direction. It is irritating to get updates about what you guys argue with each other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,615 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds


