What’s in a name?

July 24, 2010 at 1:19 pm 11 comments

There have been times when you meet people who have the most out of the box names. Some of them are difficult to pronounce like Eyjafjallajökull, a few are intriguing like Eureka & Anastasia,   and some are simply hilarious, like this one;

 Smarty Sharma 🙂 🙂

I had gone for a conference and this gentleman comes up to me, extends his hand and says ‘Hi, I am Smarty,’

Taken aback and not realizing that it was his name, I hastily replied excuse me?

He flashed a big grin and repeated, ‘The name is Smarty…Smarty Sharma (a la James Bond style), here’s my business card’, while he carried on with the conversation, I almost succumbed to my laughter…

But like Shakespeare said, ‘What’s in a name?’

Entry filed under: no mind thoughts!.

Marriage Market- 15 Lacs for Software Engineer Should Prostitution be legalized in India?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Prateek  |  July 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Have you read the novel Catch-22? If not then the next time we meet, I will get it for you.
    There is a guy in it whose name is Major Major Major and during the war he is also promoted to the rank of Major.
    A samosa wala near my college was named, Dukhi Ram ke Samose aur Jalebi.
    There was a guy in my class in school called Sweet Singh.
    I will note down others as they come to mind.

    There are a few funny names in Monty Python’s movie “The Life of Brian” and in all Marx Brother’s movies, Groucho Marx always has the most imaginative names. Remind me to burn a CD of these movies.

    Reply
  • 2. Karan Agrawal  |  July 24, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Yeah rite, what’s in the name? I had an Icelandic client earlier, OMG what names! Here are few:

    Gylfi Sigfusson,
    Adalsteinn Gudjonsson,
    Agla Huld Thorarinsdottir.
    Every name so complex… and difficult to pronounce correctly!

    Reply
    • 3. delhizen  |  July 24, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      Woh! these are diff ones.. how did u manage?

      Reply
      • 4. Madhav / Harshad  |  July 24, 2010 at 5:17 pm

        One more Example…

        Where in my company one one customer from Nigeria his name is Olubunumi Dare.

        “Olubunumi” 😮

      • 5. delhizen  |  July 24, 2010 at 5:18 pm

        Dare…is even more interesting!

  • 6. ray of light  |  July 24, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    oh my god! hw did u not laugh , tel me tht!!

    Reply
    • 7. delhizen  |  July 26, 2010 at 10:59 am

      heights of professionalism you see 😉

      Reply
  • 8. Raju Bist  |  July 25, 2010 at 12:58 am

    Just the other day in office we were discussing the name ‘Anal’.
    Yes, there actually is such a name among Gujaratis.
    I had once met a VP of an IT firm and he had given me his card which said ‘Anal Mehta’.
    I had a tough time preventing myself from giggling… 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Jaky Astik  |  July 26, 2010 at 7:13 am

    To not laugh at him, you were the Smarty.

    Reply
  • 10. Sapna  |  July 28, 2010 at 10:33 am

    @Pal: How did you manage to not laugh at that?

    In my regular work day I come across all the Asian names like Li Li Li, Li Run, Lee Get

    The names in the comments are no less hilarious 😀

    Reply
  • 11. Madhav / Harshad  |  August 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Just only name but here in Gujarat there are some Funny Surname also like. Hathi(Elephant),Varu(Wolf),Vagh(Tiger) and many more.

    One more name “Bhailalbhai”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,790 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


