Shiny Shoe Syndrome

December 7, 2010 at 1:05 pm 4 comments

Yesterday I bumped into an acquaintance at a bookstore (a well known journalist, blogger and my contemporary). He was browsing through the heavy duty intellect section of the store and me was picking up Noddy, Sleeping Beauty, Peter Pan, know your animals, numbers, colours and blah. He gave me a look, which said, what are you doing with books meant for 1yr olds and above? And before he could word it I replied, uhh though I am above 1yr so technically I too can read these but I got them for my niece.

We generally got talking about so what’s the latest when my eyes went on his shoes and oh boy! not only they were shine-less they were muddy. He was dressed in smart yet casual sort of way but unclean leather shoes is such a no-no!! Those who know him know that he cares little or not a bit about his appearance but black shoes which had clearly lost its blackness is not acceptable… While he continued to talk I wanted to say bye and move on not because the conversation was unpleasant but the look of his shoes was and I did not want to commit a social faux-pas by pointing it out after all we were no friends!

I made an excuse and left the store, what is it with me and the black shoes? Is it a symptom that I could possibly have shiny shoe syndrome?

Is it just me? Or they have this kind of an affect on you too??

Entry filed under: no mind thoughts!.

About Time Pune Day-1

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. snowleopard  |  December 7, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Yeah it does, though I would have told him. Shiny shoes are a must in an Army household. And when it is the maintenance drive…shoes and vehicles are cleaned and waxed on that day.

    Reply
  • 2. Mayur  |  December 8, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I always forget to polish my shoes. To avoid embarrassment, I have started using suede leather shoes by woodland and the likes.

    Reply
    • 3. delhizen  |  December 8, 2010 at 6:47 pm

      that’s a good idea Mayur…. 😉

      Reply
  • 4. Pzes  |  December 9, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Woah! I totally agree! I am a sucker for clean shiny leather shoes too! Don’t you think it says so much about the kind of person he is?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,615 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Feeds


