Moi Back, Pune Diary concludes.

December 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm 13 comments

After an amazing holiday I am back to Dilli, the temperature has dipped but I am waiting for that teeth clattering winter to set in.

During my last few days in Pune I got an opportunity to explore the countryside of Maharashtra (see pic)

Had lots of nariyal pani, panipuri, theplas, poha, bhel that my  craving for all this grub has been satiated for at least a few months :).

It is a people friendly city, not a single autowala refused to ferry us and I paid by the meter. Even climbed 103 stairs to reach the Parvati Temple on the hilltop all the huffing-puffing proved to be worth the effort because from here you get an aerial view of the city, see here.

Connected with some old friends not just mine but my mum’s too. She was ecstatic to meet her childhood pal after 35 years!

Would I go back? Of course I will, so much more to be explored!

Apols: Dearest Dr. D couldn’t carry back your fav Coconut ice cream :(. Pats carried back a box of Ginger cookies exclusively for you which got hijacked in the morning itself…

Entry filed under: Pune Diary.

Pune diary continues… Public Display of Affection- how much is too much??

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. snowleopard  |  December 19, 2010 at 12:28 am

    The first pic proves nothing. How do we know it was the country side of Maharashtra. Bovines are found everywhere in India. What if you had had this pic clicked in Delhi…..hmmmm???

    And about the cookies….aaaarrrghhh…..now you owe me another treat.

    P.S. Nice that you enjoyed your vacation. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  December 20, 2010 at 10:57 am

      That’s the beauty of India, countryside everywhere looks the same! 🙂 🙂

      Oh boy, I owe you so many now.. we will plan them out soon, pakka

      Reply
    • 3. Sapna  |  December 27, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      @Patty: No comments!!!! :-S

      Reply
  • 4. Purbaray  |  December 20, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    No shrewsbury cookies??? And isn’t the bhelpuri a bit meetha there unlike Delhi’s chatpata version?

    Reply
    • 5. delhizen  |  December 20, 2010 at 5:37 pm

      Oh I had so many of those that I can still feel the taste lingering in my mouth 🙂

      You know I am big bhel fan and everywhr I go I look for the best bhel and finally I am happy to annouce after many trials in Pune I discovered a place which had all the right flavours… umm, yummy!

      Reply
  • 6. Mayur  |  December 21, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Glad your trip was great. Cities and villages of Maharashtra have a fervent posture that attracts one too many. Pune is sort of addictive in many ways.

    Reply
  • 7. Sapna  |  December 27, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Good to hear you had a great vacation. 😀

    Pune is a lovely city and is the Parvati temple you were speaking abt chaturshrungi?

    I want to eat loadsa Bhel and Pani puri too after reading this 😦

    Reply
    • 8. delhizen  |  December 28, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      No the one you are mentioning is a diff temple.
      come to Delhi I will take you out for a feast! 🙂 as it is yr trip is long due

      Reply
  • 9. Deboshree  |  January 12, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Hey where is this temple? The view looks similar to the one from the Chaturshrungi mountain.

    Reply
  • 12. Mayur  |  January 13, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    People, it is Parvati temple and not Chatushrungi. It is near Sahakar Nagar off the Pune-Satara road and not Deccan. 🙂

    Amazing and peaceful place. I forgot to ask you pal, did you visit that Peshva museum atop Parvati?

    Reply
    • 13. delhizen  |  January 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm

      thanks for rescuing me there 😉

      I did! visit the museum 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,807 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


