Reporters excel in the art of ‘Copy & Paste’

January 18, 2011 at 4:14 pm 20 comments

A journalist’s job couldn’t get any easier or better! It as is as simple as pressing control ‘C’ & pasting it in the space that needs to be filled in. If it goes unnoticed, bingo! They have succeeded in getting credit for someone else’s creativity. By chance if caught and accused of ‘plagiarism’ then just issue a corrigendum and get away with it.

Kunal a fellow blogger wrote a post today http://wp.me/p1po-k8. He is angry because a journo with a national daily copied a book review from his blog without permission or due credits. A few other bloggers have had similar experiences thanks to irresponsible journalism.

Is it that simple? Yes, it is, I tried to step into a journo’s skin (not a nice feeling) and explain why I did it and so what …

  • All I did was ‘like’ something related to my line of subject and lifted it to write a more readable story. It was a (dis)honest mistake that I forgot to give credits to the original writer/photographer.
  • I know the rules of lifting text of the net, but I was in a rush to leave office and it slipped my mind to tell the copy editor that it is crucial to quote the source.
  • I wanted to add, general audience’s perspective, so took it off your blog. I didn’t know it had a copyright issue. You should feel happy what you wrote made it to a national publication. Huh!
  • Bloggers are by the dozen, what makes you think you didn’t take it off someone else’s and re-write it? It’s a mere co-incidence I stumbled on yours while doing my ‘research’ and picked it.
  • Next time I plan to take some stuff off your site/blog I will definitely mention your name. If you are interested I can tell my Ed to consider you for as a prospective freelance contributor, interested?
  • I can’t write (obviously) hence I had no choice to use your writings which are too good. I felt it deserved to be shared with more readers…

Picking stuff of the net is the stupidest mistake to be committed. Everything is not ready to use material the way you like it. Use it responsibly for reference and not blindly.

Media’s credibility? A big questions mark on it… wake-up Editors! And if you can’t find good reporters, umm… we bloggers don’t mind pitching in.

Entry filed under: Me & Media. Tags: , , , .

The ‘ If-Then’ Tag Karim

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kunal  |  January 18, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Thanks for backing me up here!

    There have been so many issues regarding the “lifting of content off net” and even then the practice is still rampant. A small Google search led me to so many bloggers/photographers who have been through the same.

    Amit Varma hits the nail bang on head with his article on plagiarism – http://indiauncut.com/iublog/article/the-thunderous-silence/ .. Nothing more can be added to that!

    Reply
  • 2. Charan  |  January 18, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    That’s the dark of side of one’s blog being ‘google’able and someone pitch in please if something more than blogging about plagiarism can be done…!!!

    Reply
    • 3. delhizen  |  January 19, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Charan, its not just about the blogs being google-able, as a journalist you shouldn’t take any info off the net esp without quoting the source and pass it off as your work…

      Reply
  • 4. Purbaray  |  January 18, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    It’s their “you can’t do a thing…tee hee” attitude that makes them think plagiarism is acceptable.

    Loved your journo avatar 😛

    Reply
    • 5. delhizen  |  January 19, 2011 at 12:08 pm

      yeah I wanted to be a journalist, somehow I always felt I am ill-equipped with the writing skills so passed it on…. only if I knew the bent rules better back then 😉

      Reply
  • 6. Deboshree  |  January 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    Very valid point.
    Its high time plagiarism is given the treatment it deserves.

    Reply
    • 7. delhizen  |  January 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      its high time the journalists realise their work is not limited to a desk job!

      Reply
  • 8. zephyr  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Credibility is an unknown commodity for many journalists today. With so much demand for reporters and subs, anyone who knows his or her alphabets and basic English can get in a newpaper/newschannel.

    Loved the way you have torn the mask off these wannabe journos 🙂

    Reply
    • 9. delhizen  |  January 19, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      Zephyr coming from you that means a lot… I seriously think, their should be an induction programme for the newbies with the veterans to understand how careful they need to be at what they report and how.

      Reply
  • 10. snowleopard  |  January 18, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Oh my…Pal’s Sarcasm on display. 🙂 And we wonder why the quality of journalism is spiralling down the drain.

    Reply
    • 11. delhizen  |  January 19, 2011 at 12:15 pm

      Oh Pats, quality is directly proportionate to commitment and seriousness towards the work… Be it a writing a food review, book review or a crime reporting, you need to be aware, read-up, and most importantly have a knack to know the what, who, where and how of it…

      But we are lazy, laidback, and on google… 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. sudhagee  |  January 19, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Plagiarism is like rot in the woodwork–silently growing and creeping up on you and then exploding in your face. It is much more rampant than we know. I teach academic writing skills to M.Phil. and Ph.D. students and when I tell them that copy-paste is not acceptable, at least without attributing the source, the reaction usually is “Oh ! We didn’t know”.

    Reply
    • 13. Delhizen  |  January 19, 2011 at 5:30 pm

      thanks for dropping by Sudha and since you interact with quite educated lot I have a question

      Are we really that ignorant or just pretending to be because its convenient ???

      Reply
      • 14. sudhagee  |  January 20, 2011 at 12:05 am

        I think it is a combination of the two. Look at our school system, where copying of notes is encouraged and copying down from the board and writing answers only in a particular way is stressed upon. Never mind the mediocre nature. There is no scope for either individuality or for expression. This is the “ignorant part”.

        By the time the student has reached college and then university, he/she is grappling with multiple assignments and it becomes convinient. If caught, the excuse is “I forgot”.

        But what is most shocking and unpardonable is when an academic article in a peer-reviewed journal has been accepted for publication, based on the reviewers’ glowing comments. The copy-editor (that is me) as part of a routine check discovers that the introductory part is plagiarised. When confronted, the author cries and says that she didn’t know. The reviewers, when also confronted, said that “its ok, rest of the article is original. So, why the big fuss?”

        I’m like….speechless!!! There is a lot of double standards involved as these reviewers would be the first to cry “Plagiarism” if any of their work is used without attributing it to them.

        Plagiarism is an emotional topic for me and I could go on about it. I didn’t say it in my earlier comment, but this is great post.

  • 15. Mohan  |  January 20, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    I had a couple of incidents when the media copied my images and pushed into their news papers without proper copyright attribution. They don’t seem to learn a lession after repeated incidents.

    Reply
    • 16. delhizen  |  January 20, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      sue them 🙂

      thanks for visiting !

      Reply
  • 17. The Sorcerer  |  January 20, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    I am scared about this each and everytime when I put a hardware review on my blog. Its very difficult for a tech blogger to get media samples as he is compared to the “usual media” and its the same “usual media” capitalizing on it by robbing it. There was a time techtree stole an article “Creative EP 630” from an international tech blog, so did a contributor for digit.

    Also, when a tech blogger gets to be noticed and credibility is built, the suits from the media company try to buy you out. The only way to protect my reviews is to create a “media company” and get a copyright with a “shop establishment act” liecense. Silly- yes. Unless or until you are seriously backed up by community blogs and forums (which I am- in techenclave, digit and chip) & in social media, there’s less stuff that can protect you and/or expose such nuisance.

    Out of this, community power rules them all.

    Reply
  • 18. Shrinidhi Hande  |  January 20, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Good attempting stepping into Journo’s shoes

    Reply
  • 19. Sourav  |  January 30, 2011 at 5:40 am

    This happened to me once, though I managed to get credit for the article after I reported against it to the Editor.

    Reply
    • 20. delhizen  |  January 31, 2011 at 5:41 pm

      Sourav, next time you should ask them to hire you ;). I am sure they will happy to have such a creative dude on board.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,595 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Feeds


