Karim

January 24, 2011 at 4:44 pm 17 comments

I know I am the nth person to write about Karim’s, what to do I love it as much as others do and every time I go there I vow to return!

Anyone says food and my eyes light-up and a smile appears. Since I practically live with vegetarians (all colleagues except 3) the obvious choice of dining out or ordering in is limited to shakahari bhojan to an extent that I started to feel have my loyalties changed or what? My beliefs in my non-vegetarianism got reaffirmed yet again with a trip to Karim, Jama Masjid.

A few minutes walk from the Masjid, a small lane leads you to a courtyard surrounded by dinning halls and open kitchens and this place is called ‘Karim’. Every carnivore in Delhi or visiting will swear by this fifth generation Mughlai eatery.

It is as much about food as it is about experience. In not many restaurants I see a concept of community eating where you comfortably share a table with strangers. Not just one but two live kitchens, one roasting kebabs, the other making fluffy tandoori rotis and filling plates after plates with the most amazing food from the huge handis or degh.

What I ordered

  • An all time favorite Keema Naan, crisp to perfection and not hard or over stuffed
  • Chicken Jahangiri– succulent pieces of chicken in a spicy gravy flavored with green chilies
  • Mutton Korma– A specialty dish of the restaurant, chunks of meat in a thick curry.
  • Another option you can try out is Chicken Mughalai, prepared with egg based gravy.

Options are unlimited and portions are good for two. The onion price rise has not hit them because all means are served with a generous help dipped in lemon juice.

Those who don’t like their food dripping in oil should avoid visiting. Vegetarians are welcome; it does offer the typical Paneer Makhani.

Not to have; the obvious butter chicken variety.

Though they have outlets two more outlets in Delhi and a few in other cities (I spotted one in Pune also) try visiting the original one in the Walled City. The food is prepared according to the centuries old recipes passed on from the Khansama who cooked in kitchens of the Mughals emperors.

It’s simple, delicious and definitely you would go back for more

 

Entry filed under: Delhi-ghtfully Yours!. Tags: , , , , , .

Reporters excel in the art of ‘Copy & Paste’ The look; Curly Hairdo

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mayur  |  January 24, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    The names look so tempting… I’m already jealous of you carnivorous beings. 🙂

    There is a place called Bade Miyan in Mumbai… similar or may be a bit smaller and more open. I have been there more than once and all I could eat was baida (egg preparation) and roomali roti. I must admit, no one makes better roomali rotis than they do. Sadly I could eat only that 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Mayur  |  January 24, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    By the way the Karim’s in Pune is not their branch 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. delhizen  |  January 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm

      really? and Karim hasn’t sued them for using its brand name??

      and like I should visit it for an experience- eat the ‘hara-bhara kebab and the likes 😉

      Reply
      • 4. Mayur  |  January 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

        Insults galore on tax free blog 😦

        Mumbai aao ek baar. I’ll feed you one of the best kebabs you might have ever had.

      • 5. delhizen  |  January 24, 2011 at 5:30 pm

        oye no! never….

        when I come to Mumbai next I am going to be on a seafood diet only!!!

      • 6. Sapna  |  January 25, 2011 at 10:18 am

        Hmmm you will definitely enjoy the seafood in Mumbai. Btw our definition of seafood diet is a diet where you eat everything you see 😛

  • 7. Kartikay  |  January 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Drooling already. Very mean thing to do, I tell you!

    Reply
    • 8. delhizen  |  January 24, 2011 at 5:38 pm

      Holy Macaroni in Salsa sauce!!

      I thought you would say, I am taking next flight to Delhi, ‘Karim Calling’ 🙂 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. snowleopard  |  January 24, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Isn’t it funny. I am a pure vegetarian…in Delhi…and I don’t swear by Karims 😛
    And anyway talking of foods…I am waiting for my treats. How many are there? Let me count…hmmm…1,2,….6. Yes 6.

    Reply
    • 10. delhizen  |  January 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm

      I m reading it wrong or you missed to prefix the word non before vegetarian???

      all your treats clubbed into one= meal at Karims 🙂 🙂

      Reply
    • 11. Sapna  |  January 25, 2011 at 10:19 am

      Did you mean a pure non-vegetarian???

      Reply
  • 12. Sapna  |  January 25, 2011 at 10:20 am

    @Pal: I am making a note of all this. Now I know what to expect from my trip to Delhi.. (whenever that happens)

    Reply
  • 13. magiceye  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:28 am

    that was a yumm post!

    Reply
  • 14. Deboshree  |  January 27, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Wow someone’s quite a foodie! 😀
    I have visited Karim’s a few times (in fact I went to the Pune branch recently and had biryani)

    Reply
  • 15. Delhizen  |  January 29, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    @ Sapna, yr plan is long due, time to execute it!
    @magic eye- the food was yummier 🙂
    @ Deboshree, Yeah I am a foodoholic, btw according to Mayur Karim in Pune is not a branch of the Delhi one.

    @ all- apols for the delayed response was travelling and had limited access to www

    Reply
  • 16. Vee  |  February 2, 2011 at 8:18 am

    i am drooling on my laptop reading this.. 😦

    Reply
    • 17. delhizen  |  February 8, 2011 at 11:25 pm

      sorry for the late response,was trying to figure out sumone who cud carry bk sum karim spl fr u,cudn’t find anyone 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,297 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


