Vegetarian Cappuccino, please?

February 9, 2011 at 3:02 pm 15 comments

The story is based on  real-life experience of Sourav Pandey with zero elements of exaggeration. When I heard what he had to say, I couldn’t resist myself from penning it down…

Blind dates can go three ways;

1. You meet; have fun and part on a good note,

2. You meet and it turns or to be the worst ‘day-mare’ ever,,

3. You make a plan to meet-up again the next day and then the following and day after that…

Sourav, didn’t anticipate the first two because as the mushiest love story writer ever, prospective romances last a life time.

He was taking a stroll in GK – II market, near his house when a long lost friend called him from behind, ‘oye Sourav Pandey’ the next big thing in Bollywood. Later that evening he received a friend request from Sakshi Rawat along with an intro mail which read, “Hi, we don’t know each other but mainey apko aaj GK – II market mein dekha and apkey dost ney jab bulaya toh apka naam maloom chala. I’m frm Himachal stdyin Mass Comm in Delhi. U lukd quite nic”

The mail read like a plot from his next short story ‘facebook(ed) for love’. Moreover she didn’t sound like an ultra cool girl, a ‘desi’ touch made it even more interesting for him; and anyway isn’t everything in pink supposed to be pretty? On an extended holiday and nothing much to do Sourav decided to play along; her profile picture in a pink dress was pretty enough to set his pulse racing. Exchanged numbers, chatted on the phone for four consecutive days in a row. Too much, too fast is it? He thought, but this is what he told the world, ‘love happens in the most bizarre situations and passion makes you take the risk.’ Time to put his preaching to test and he asked her out for date. Saturday, 4pm, ‘McD’, South-Ex, Sakshi suggested, which she claimed serves the best pizzas ever!

He was taken by surprise that Sakshi came accompanied by two friends for a date. They had barely exchanged hellos when one of her friend’s shouted out, to the other one “Hey baabieee, happpiie Rose day”;

Covering-up his irritation he asked, “Can we go somewhere else, this place is too noisy?”

But kahan? Sakshi asked without looking at him and continued to chat away with her friends.

There’s a Costa Coffee just across the road, Sourav suggested.

Costa, woh kya hai?

Let’s go and find out, you might like it. It was getting a little too much already and was clearly not going the way he would have written it.

At Costa, Sourav looked at the menu and said, “I will go with my regular Cappuccino. What about you?

How nice you are a vegetarian, same pinch, Sakshi added with a childlike excitement

Confused, Sourav asked her how do you know I am a vegetarian?

Arrey abhi toh you said you will have a Cappuccino, even I’d eat a veggie Cappuccino!

Ouuch, this hurt and really bad. How come he didn’t realize the girl he thought could be heroine of his story is not a desi but clueless about coffee and so much more…

Even though Sourav is a ‘little’ bruised by his experience, he is hopeful of meeting a dusky tall beauty with brains. Happens rarely, he says, but ‘I am not going to let one experience deter me from going out again the next time… anyone interested? 😉


Entry filed under: faltoo, no mind thoughts!. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Breaking News: Black Announced as the National Colour of India Spring & Sunshine

15 Comments

  • 1. Mayur  |  February 9, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Very interesting experience, and hilarious too. 🙂

    Though I have never had one such in my life. But I’d have loved to have one… blind date and all… he he!

  • 2. Kunal  |  February 9, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Hilarious! 🙂

  • 3. delhizen  |  February 9, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    @ Mayur & Kunal-I have been laughing it out for last two days, thanks to Sourav who played along and is quite a sport!

  • 4. Sourav  |  February 9, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
    Am just going to post this link for my friends to read! I’m tired of telling them this story individually! 😀

    Can I add one of her dialogue –
    “Aap meri zindagi ke dukh dard sunoge toh booot chont pohenchegi apko bhi, aur wo mai nai chahti”

    😛

  • 5. Malvika  |  February 9, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Wow! That was super interesting… short crisp so much so that I could quickly read in office! I usually don’t do that! Loved it! May be the experience itself is great as well!

    • 6. Sourav  |  February 9, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      All my friends are enjoying at my plight, you too Malvika?! :/ 😛

      Go for such an experience and let me know, how great it can be! 😉

  • 7. Purbaray  |  February 9, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I want a vegetarian cappuccino too, with a generous sprinkle of chillies 😀

    Loved the simple narrative style.

  • 8. snowleopard  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Eyebrow raise one: She is studying in Delhi and knows not coffee shops. And they are roaming around in South Delhi. And in areas full of CCDs, Baristas and what not. And Miss Rawat didn’t notice. What was she…a modern day Gandhari?I wonder what would have happened if Mr. Pandey had suggested a Hookah lounge.

    Eyebrow raise two: Pink dress and Pizza at McD

    Eyebrow raise three: Rose Day wishes

    Eyebrow raise four: Vegetarian cappuccino and same pinch

    Biggest Eyebrow raise: I read it

    • 9. Sourav  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:15 pm

      Is there a LIKE button to like this comment? 😀

      No, she was a modern day Madhubala! :p

      Yes, Pizza at McD!!!!!!

      Veg cappuccino was the best one! 😛

      And I experienced it!

  • 10. Mayur  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Now it is my turn to raise an eyebrow.

    @Patty: The girl sounds unbelievably naive. Do you think the story is too good to be true? If the answer is yes, I may be led to believe it!

    Never the less, you must agree that it was a good read.

    • 11. Sourav  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:19 pm

      Hi Mayur!

      Unbelievable things happen, it may be a good read to people, but for me it was one memorable exp!

      • 12. Mayur  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:34 pm

        Sourav I never questioned you buddy. Unbelievable things do happen. I have seen people who met on Orkut getting married and living happily.

        I just said the experience is too good to be true. But if it is, I’m sure you had a great time. Tell me a thing, if you talked with her for 4 days on phone, did you not realise that she was THAT dumb? Or was she playing you around?

        I just did a small search on the internet. There are 7 Sakshi Rawats on FB. One lives in Germany. One in Mumbai. Third in Delhi but working for an IT major. Fourth is a school girl and the remaining three point to MS Dhoni’s wife Sakshi Rawat-Dhoni.

        Are you sure you met a real Sakshi or was the girl fooling around with you?

  • 13. Sourav  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    @Mayur
    Yeah, I have seen orkut dating and things too!

    I spoke to her for four days, I always knew she was DUMB, but realized her absolute dumbness, only when I met her and the ‘Cappuccino’ experience made me run away !

    And yes, the girls’ name has been changed, so your efforts were wasted 😛 Pallavi knows the real name and the location, but I never wanted to defame her real identity. I guess this was a sensible thing to do? 🙂

    • 14. Mayur  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      That was absolutely sensible. No offense sir!

      • 15. Sourav  |  February 9, 2011 at 5:48 pm

        Thanks! I suggest you get such experiences too 😉


Click-Clock

  • 34,790 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds