Books by my Bedside

February 17, 2011 at 1:32 pm 15 comments

History, Mythology, English Classics interest me the most and make 50% of my book collection.

On my recent visit to the Midland bookstore in South-Ex (they are one of the biggest in Delhi, the store manager is a pleasant gentleman and gives a good discount) I picked-up:

India – A biographical account written by Patrick French, historian and best known for penning the authorized biography of VS Naipaul. Though I have read only 50 odd pages every time I book-mark a page, I look forward to picking it up again.

Did you know that there were nearly 554 kingdoms/princely states to be integrated into India pre-partition? The book is an amalgamation of history, economics and sociological dimensions, upheavals, highs, lows and politicization of BHARAT with examples, stories and anecdotes. Maybe I can write an educative essay on India after I am through with it.

Book-II ‘Titles under ‘classic’ are timeless and meant for all age groups’


Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery– Recommended to me by Dr. D this book was published in 1908 and is clearly now my third most favourite book after Jane Eyre and Daddy Long Legs.  The book is about an orphan girl who is sent to a foster family by mistake. The character of Anne with an emphasis on the e else you upset the protagonist is an 11 year old who has the most vivid imagination and talks uninterrupted. The novel is based in a village called Avonlea in Prince Edward Island and the presentation is as dreamy as that of Alice in Wonderland.

Anne is case of melodrama, misadventures and shocks she gives to everyone with her mean temper and heartfelt apologies.  Her relationship with best friend for life Diana Barry and foe turned friend Gilbert are other highlights which makes you turn the pages after pages. Why I loved it so much? Simply, because there is a little bit of Anne in all of us.

Next on my list are:

  • The Immortals of Meluha is the first novel of the Shiva trilogy series by Amish Tripathi- recommended by Vee
  • Remaining three parts of Ramayana by Ashok Banker
    • Armies of Hanuman
    • Bridge of Rama
    • King of Ayodhya
  • The Outsiders– recommended by Cybernag
  • Tuck Everlasting- Natalie Babbit recommended by Kunal
Entry filed under: Me & Media.

Lucky Charm You’ve Got Spam

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tangyorangesour  |  February 17, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    It’s time I check out the book store that has opened up near to my place!

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  February 17, 2011 at 3:16 pm

      yes, and tell me the ones you get

      Reply
  • 3. Deboshree  |  February 17, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Haila where’s this Midland book store? I have been to South Ex umpteen times and I always end up at Om Book Store.

    Nice collection there though! Happy reading. 😀

    Reply
    • 4. delhizen  |  February 17, 2011 at 3:16 pm

      At the extreme end of Bengali Sweets lane. It’s in the basement. They have a branch in Aurbindo Market also but that’s not as spacious and cool as this one… And the smell of books is intoxicating!

      Reply
  • 5. Kunal  |  February 17, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    Meluha is a treat 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. delhizen  |  February 17, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      and that defi is my next pick :). Part II is also expected to be in the market soon

      Reply
  • 7. snowleopard  |  February 17, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Only??? Tch Tch…You don’t read much do you.

    Reply
    • 8. delhizen  |  February 17, 2011 at 6:59 pm

      I believe in quality over numbers 🙂

      and how much do you read? you haven’t even started to read the History of Sikhism you borrowed from me six months ago.

      Reply
    • 9. Sapna  |  February 18, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      Patty 😐 At least she is reading…

      Reply
      • 10. delhizen  |  February 18, 2011 at 12:41 pm

        At least someone’s on my side!! Thankyew Sappy 🙂

  • 11. ray of light  |  February 17, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    oh we have to have george orwell in that list, its almost not fair!
    i love animal farm n 1984

    Reply
    • 12. delhizen  |  February 18, 2011 at 1:02 pm

      ROL- Noted! 🙂 How can I not listen to you

      Reply
  • 13. Kartikay  |  February 17, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Hey! I’m a devout follower of the Aurobindo Market Midlands! The uncle there recognizes me by face – and gives me the latest scoop on non-fiction books 🙂

    Oh I miss Daalhi!

    Reply
    • 14. delhizen  |  February 18, 2011 at 1:05 pm

      I went to there once but I prefer the South Ex branch. Uncle there also does a fine job of recommending books 🙂

      Yeah, nothing can ever beat Dehli ! 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Please give me an answer.. « Tangyorangesour’s Blog  |  February 18, 2011 at 3:13 am

    […] I was starting to reach for my phone and had switched to ‘May it be..’ by Enya when my reverie was interrupted by the sound of soft notification in my taskbar. I sat upright, alert, as you might say, curious. It was my RSS feed, a new post – Delhizen’s blog. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,297 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


