It’s a Human(e) thing!

March 10, 2012 at 3:56 pm 8 comments

Airports and railway stations are the best places to observe people. One, because you have to do something while you wait to board the flight or train and two, it’s a woman thing. We have to take notice of things around us, no matter how trivial it may seem but it can catch our attention.

At both places you will see diversity in the crowd. Some characteristics will make you take a mental note to share what you noticed with the next person you call. There is one thing which is common to all people irrespective of their backgrounds, you don’t have to speak or understand the same language. You have it because you are human, wondering what? 

The answer is Manners!! Either you have them or you don’t. It is not gender specific. It can also be a woman who can offer her seat to an elderly man standing in a crowded bus. It is only polite to not un-necessarily fuss while standing in a queue, the person before and behind you is perhaps as tired or as much in a rush. You don’t have to wait for someone to call out to you for help before offering/extending it. You see someone needs it then what is stopping you from being the first one to give it? 

 

What provoked me to write this post are two simple incidents in two different cities but the common factors were an old couple, surrounded by smart professionals in an airport. At the Bengaluru airport, a couple in their 60s with a small baby and lots of baggage were struggling to push the trolley, they did not speak English or understood Hindi but it was obvious that they could do with an extra hand to push the cart and guide them to the right counter. In the second scenario an aged couple was waiting to collect their baggage at T1,New Delhi. They spoke in Bengali to a young man standing next to them. I assumed he must their son, when their luggage came the young man looked un-concerned and didn’t care to pick it up.

Of course I pitched in both the scenarios because for me that is an obvious thing to do. But is too un-manly to help or too much for a lady to do? Shouldn’t helping someone come naturally to us? What would you do, wait to e asked as this would give an artificial boost to the ego or rather feel blessed after helping someone?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

We all are journalists Home is where nature is

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sapna  |  March 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    I just think people have become too commercial for manners.

    I remember my Dad give a ride to random kids walking by the road while dropping me to school when I was late. Then I would get angry, now I know how much it means to get a ride when you really have to reach on time.

    On a side note, I remember my Dad doing that to one of my tuition friends but that guy used to come late on purpose and would just get into the car coz he couldn’t say no to my Dad. After this happened 3 or 4 times he was never to be seen on our way. I think he changed his route or just hid behind a tree or something whenever he saw our car 😛

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  March 10, 2012 at 11:43 pm

      I like the phrase ‘ commercialization of manners’! @ this incidence is too funny!! for a instance i thought the boy had a crush on you 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Deboshree  |  March 10, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Good to see a post from you after ages… 🙂
    Ditto on the bit about manners. Either you have them or you don’t.

    Reply
    • 4. delhizen  |  March 10, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      I too feel good about writing it :), glad you are still following my blog

      Reply
  • 5. Sangeeta Reghu Nair (@Sangrywords)  |  March 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Brilliant and good job !! I have seen my mother treat even our help at home with respect – she says even if I give her salary she is helping me in my work .. and yes either you have it or you don’t ..

    Reply
    • 6. delhizen  |  March 10, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      My mum told me the same thing. I tell you, what will we do with mommies and their gyan 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by Sangeeta

      Reply
  • 7. Sachin  |  March 12, 2012 at 9:38 am

    Good to see a “sensitive” person in an insensitive world… the fact that you noticed it, proves how sensitive you are… I wish the people who provoked you to write this post, also read this and get embarrassed. But knowing such people whom we see day in and day out, I doubt if it will have any impact on them….

    Reply
    • 8. delhizen  |  March 12, 2012 at 11:01 am

      The post really touched you!! I didn’t write it to prove a point or to embarrasse anyone… I have a simple funda, help those who find it difficult to be nice to others -perhaps it might convert them at some point in life… what do you say??

      PS: And welcome to Delhizen’s blog are you a Delhizen too?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,297 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


