The Tourist

December 3, 2012 at 11:07 pm 25 comments

It’s been four months today since I moved to Bombay, a city which was far-far away when I was a kid. Confidence plastered all over my face, a heart full of nervous butterflies I landed here. Since then, I have experienced its furious rains; felt its strong breeze blow me away, waves slipping off the sand from under my feet, mad rush of the locals, jerky cab rides, hours in traffic, festivities in galore and absolute silence out of fear. Oh, and I almost gave-up on wearing the ‘right’ footwear and learnt to step out in colorful flip-flops, a big-big deal for a ‘proper Delhi girl’.

We take our cities for granted, all these years when I was in Delhi I never stepped out to explore the art and culture scene, every day I passed by the National museum but didn’t step in to study history. I must have crossed Qutab Minar, Old Fort a hundred times but never cared to admire the architecture. A mistake I ‘m not likely to repeat, this isn’t my city, language, food, fashion everything is different and new and must be experienced.

Often when I meet someone new they make a standard statement which also poses an underlying question, Delhizens don’t like Bombay, our food scene doesn’t offer the same variety as you get back home and don’t embarrass us by comparing flavors.  On the contrary I have liked the city as a tourist. It has so much vibrancy and I would like to believe it safe too. For me everything is good except the good old butter chicken doesn’t taste the same here.

Back home, I lived a life of luxury and here the city is my teacher, it has taught me to pace-up on weekdays.  I understand the business of looking out for a house, managing logistics and what it takes to set-up and run one.

Each time I try something new I know I am making someone proud because the Spoilt brat is history, it’s a new improved me. From playing house to setting up our own, we have come a long way, and this is just a stop gap till I reach my destination. ..

 

PS: I thought I forgot to write. What I should have remembered instead is one doesn’t forget to be the person one is… Blogging is a part of me and I’m back! This is just a preface to a series of posts in the pipeline and don’t be surprised If you read home-making tips and moi-special recipes here.

Do I plan to rechristen the blog? No chance, I will forever be a Delhizen, a loud Punjabi girl who loves to chatter and for whom comfort meal would always be rajma-chawal and aloo paranthas!Image

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Perils of Early Puberty The Help

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Binit Agrawal  |  December 3, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Welcome back Delhizen. And now a Mumbaia! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Delhizen  |  December 4, 2012 at 11:25 am

      I am a Delhizen, re-read the post !!! 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Sapna  |  December 4, 2012 at 8:06 am

    Welcome back Pal. 🙂

    Lovely pic!

    Waiting to see more posts from you. All ready to hear anything that our sunshine gal has to say 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Delhizen  |  December 4, 2012 at 11:26 am

      Thank you Sapna :), certainly going to be on a writing spree !

      Reply
  • 5. vaibhav dugar  |  December 4, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Swati  |  December 4, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Awww! What a lovey ode to the city 🙂 You should also write about your stint with the knee deep water in the first week and the kind souls who helped you trudge through it! That’s Mumbai 🙂

    Glad you used that photo!

    Reply
    • 7. Delhizen  |  December 4, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      you already shared the story!!! I will write about it… Readers the photo is courtesy Swati Maheshwari, an amazing photographer and my dearest dearest friend

      Reply
      • 8. Swati  |  December 4, 2012 at 10:20 pm

        Awwwww *tears in eyes*

  • 9. Prit  |  December 5, 2012 at 10:46 am

    I know that you are a good professional writer and used to write official documents brilliantly. This is the first time I am reading something else from your side. I am not amazed but I am shocked. This is the other side of Delhizen which I did not know when you were here (in Dilli). Love to hear from you again & again.

    Reply
    • 10. Delhizen  |  December 5, 2012 at 10:49 am

      meet the other side of priti :)… read past posts till I pen down some new ones !

      Reply
  • 11. Mayur  |  December 5, 2012 at 11:07 am

    The post ends with a great picture. Welcome back. You have now inspired me to start writing again… you know. Last one and half years have been horrible for me as a writer.

    Mumbai is a great city to learn from. It is generous in every sense, be it crown, cosmopolitan nature, volatile political scene, rains, food or opportunities. All in plenty here. The city is for every one. The more you know, the more you will get amazed.

    I’m bored of it though. Have one lesson too many. Plans to quit.

    PS: The butter chicken in Mumbai is served by Shettys (as most restaurants are owned by south indians). If you want to eat the real chicken, you need to go to the real places. Shalimar, Cafe Noorani, Bade Miyan, Partap da Dhaba to name a few.

    Reply
    • 12. Delhizen  |  December 5, 2012 at 11:11 am

      I inspired the inspiration!!

      and butter chicken in Mumbai is made by the Gujaratis because that could be the only reason for it to be sweet! 🙂

      Next is your turn to write a dhamaka post

      Reply
  • 13. Royal Enfielder  |  December 5, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Wow! You actually had a discussion of Delhi-Mumbai and life here without bringing up the paanipuri vs gol gappe debate! I am impressed!

    Reply
    • 14. Delhizen  |  December 5, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Now now you are provoking me to criticize 😉

      Reply
  • 15. Pradeep S. Menon  |  December 5, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    As someone who lives and breathes Mumbai, but who has absolutely loved Delhi on every single visit, I know the difference between the two cities. It is these little quirks of our cities that make us fall in love with them the way we do.

    Nice to read your lucidly expressed insights about my city. I hope we’ve treated you well and that Mumbai always holds a place in your heart, the way Delhi does!

    Reply
    • 16. delhizen  |  December 30, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      yep, so far so good! best part about the people here, they are non- interfering and don’t intimidate others.

      PS: apologies for the late reply, don’t know how i missed it

      Reply
  • 17. Zephyr  |  December 5, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    So the Delhizen is beginning to love Amchi Mumbai? Wait till we move there and you will have more fun. That is a city which I loved as a kid and then as an adult, going from and to it all these years. Looking forward to recipes of the veg kind from your kitchen

    Reply
    • 18. Delhizen  |  December 6, 2012 at 9:06 am

      Eagerly waiting for your arrival and Chithi you would be surprised that most of the cooking I do is vegetarian!

      Reply
  • 19. Haanji_Guptaji  |  December 27, 2012 at 2:17 am

    Nice thoughts about the city. Never been to Mumbai, probably why I harbor the notion of it being unwelcoming to people from Delhi. Loved this. 🙂

    Reply
    • 20. delhizen  |  December 30, 2012 at 8:06 pm

      Now if you would have said that about a visit to China “unwelcoming to people from Delhi ??” i would have understood but Mumbai?? Its a part of our country, it is like a sponge, absorbs all it can… you are missing a good holiday!

      Reply
  • 21. Kartikay  |  January 8, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    Brilliant brilliant! Good to see you back! Woohooo for world peace!

    Reply
    • 22. delhizen  |  January 10, 2013 at 11:10 am

      Wooohoooo for world peace!!! 🙂 How have you been Delhi boy?

      Reply
      • 23. Kartikay  |  January 11, 2013 at 11:20 am

        Bangalore boy, tada! I’m good I’m good. Haven’t been blogging and I should get back to it. Facebook is the biggest impediment to that!

  • 24. Deboshree  |  August 8, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    How have you been?! 🙂 🙂
    It’s so good to be back on this blog and read your post. How is life treating you?

    Reply
  • 25. sangeeta khanna  |  September 2, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    Yes we start seeing our cities differently when we move away. For good or for bad but it certainly helps us to learn more, adapt more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,292 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


