The Help

January 10, 2013 at 11:05 am 3 comments

“Rains and Romance – Romance in Rains”, the idea itself is beautiful, simply because it evokes a feeling of freshness in life.  Blame the movies for putting this concept in my mind but primarily I was in love with the idea of dark clouds, getting drenched in rains, strong windy breeze, washed plants with droplets trickling off the leaves.

So no one back home was surprised about my excitement for shifting to the city in July because it was peak monsoon! After my first day at the new job I went house hunting, it was a clear day and didn’t seem it would rain. Lesson 1- rains are unpredictable; they start and stop at a notice of few seconds!

It was the first time I saw water seeping into the cab, left with no choice but to get off. Hungry, soaked to skin, wearing my best formals, I was stranded in what according to me was “middle of nowhere,  a sight to see the “sea had entered the city”. That’s was my Lesson 2- there is nothing romantic about the Bombay rains especially if you are new to the city and clueless about roads and routes.

Tears cloudedmy eyes as I stood contemplating if I should wait for the water to recede or step in like others who were wading through. A group of 4 boys who noticed me offered to drop me safely to the hotel for just 100 bucks. If It was Delhi, I would have waited till dawn if I had to, than take help from strangers. But this was Bombay where it is not odd to offer and accept help. As I stepped in holding shoes in one hand, two boys walked ahead to clear the way and ensure nothing comes under my feet and one each by my side. In a typical accent one of them said, ” roney ka kya hai, yeh toh barish mein hoyega”. the water current was so strong that I had no choice but to grip one them’s hand to prevent from slipping. He didn’t seem to mind, neither did he try to cling. It was just like holding a strong log of wood for support.

They dropped me safely, refused to take the money and advised to be careful next time I venture out in such torrential rains. Woah, there is no next time! Every time I may not be lucky to find trustworthy genuine ‘help’.

Third thing (you don’t want to know the first two) I did after reaching the hotel, called my sister who lives in Switzerland and asked to send me a pair of rain boots…

Entry filed under: Me in Mumbai.

The Tourist Innocent or Guilty… who knows what the truth is?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Charan  |  January 10, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Lucky you to be in Mumbai on this scene, just imagine you alone, 4 boys and Delhi, National Headline material for many days…!!!

    Reply
  • 2. delhizen  |  January 10, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Good thing was I wasn’t alone, there were many other people who were stranded but I guess for them it was just another rainy day…

    Commuting in Delhi during rains- one advice… always take a metro

    Reply
  • 3. Zephyr  |  January 10, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    Charan sounds scary but real. The Mumbai i know is what you have described but unfortunately it seems to have changed a bit if one were to go by the words of my friends who have daughters. Or is it plain fear that things might have become bad here too?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 34,297 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

Dillizen

Feeds


