Oi! Delhi…

March 8, 2013 at 1:49 pm 11 comments

Since my move to Bombay precisely 8 months and 5 days ago time and again the same question pops-up, Why Bombay, to which I enthusiastically replied each time ‘besides an opportunity for the career, it has what Delhi doesn’t ‘Sea & Safety’.  The next obvious question is Delhi really that unsafe? Honestly, I played it safe, never took the risk of staying out late, taking a walk in the park or boarding a private bus.  Call it my Delhi attitude I haven’t done it in Bombay either but I do have a sense of freedom and security to do if I wish!

On that note, today I am going to do something I wouldn’t ever do in Delhi, wear a dress, hail a cab, raise a toast with my girlfriends and forget my wrist watch at home!

 

PS: Dear Delhi, in my next post I will certainly be more nice before my ‘Delhi-zenship’ is questioned.

Entry filed under: Me in Mumbai. Tags: , , , .

Mad Man’s History Lessons: Timeline 3 by Sudhir Pai A Hospital Stay is No Holiday

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    i am a dellhilite from heart , born and brought up in delhi , still living in delhi , travelled every major city of India , but i find no change , its just people who make or break , so we are responsible for this havoc , we see but don’t do anything , its our mentality , but i love delhi and still feel its best city of India

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:04 pm

      Dear fellow Delhizen, let me put things in perspective ‘ I love Delhi too’, its home! but I can’t just deny what is wrong with the city… Fix this one thing and Delhi truly will be India’s best city to live in.

      Reply
      • 3. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:15 pm

        For fixing this we need to be more vigilant , we should see what’s going on in our area , we can’t just keep our door closed in night and say hey why its happening …..

  • 4. Delhizen  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    Ok, simple question? Do you do it? Vigilant enough and keeping a check on your area?… Fix it and do read some of my Happy-I love Delhi posts !

    Reply
    • 5. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:46 pm

      Yup i do , i live in Gov accomodation , we have strict RWA , we keep eye on who comes and who go , which flat is on rent , who is staying …. we do a lot …. 🙂 ya i already read them , its nice ….. you know a lot about delhi … 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    And you can enjoy your life as u like in Delhi , such incidences — just show the loose loops ….

    Reply
  • 7. Kartikay  |  March 11, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Mumbbhhaaaiiii! What amazed me most was the order at a bus stop. You have to stand in line – and the conductor will not allow anyone to fill up the bus too much.

    Such order! Such non-push-i-ness! Only in Mumbai!

    Reply
    • 8. Anuj Chauhan  |  March 12, 2013 at 9:51 am

      Well i certainly accept your point of view , i had also felt this , but you should also accept my point of view that is …. in Delhi there is no single community state , its a mixture of many community , and here anyone can get job in Delhi govt or anyone from any part of India can get admission in DU , but in Mumbai , you must have studied Marathi to get admission in Colleges , or there is reserved seats for Marathi , but Delhi is different in many manners , here all are given equal opportunity …. that’s what i like ….. In Delhi no one is treated on your cast or community , but in Mumbai there are blocks like Sindhi area , Maratha area , where u can’t even rent a house or live ….. … 🙂

      Reply
    • 9. Delhizen  |  March 15, 2013 at 5:37 pm

      You know Kay, here the jams are crazy but ppl don’t drive you mad by honking. Mumbai is so Un-Delhi… Mumbai,gets a thumbs-up!!

      Reply
      • 10. Anuj Chauhan  |  March 15, 2013 at 5:54 pm

        Well , Honking … nice , but what about long jams , Bad roads , congested roads …. Delhi a better place to live at least you can afford to buy an house ….. not like in Mumbai where u will have to live hundreds of Km apart and transit all day to come for work ….. with steep rent price , no greenery , no playing grounds ….. Delhi is best for living………

      • 11. Kartikay  |  March 17, 2013 at 1:04 pm

        @Anuj – well, there are positives and negatives to everything, but you needn’t polarize a conversation with your point of view. I’m from Delhi as well but I have my reasons to not love that city as much as you. I don’t have to convince you, do I? 😀

        @Delhizen – I love the food the most! I was in Mumbai for the Kala Ghoda fest some time back, and I loved the fact that the most un-pretentious of places would have really subtle and well-made grub. Bangalore is getting there 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 33,595 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Delhizen captures

More Photos

Dillizen

Feeds


