Oi! Delhi…

March 8, 2013 at 1:49 pm 11 comments

Since my move to Bombay precisely 8 months and 5 days ago time and again the same question pops-up, Why Bombay, to which I enthusiastically replied each time ‘besides an opportunity for the career, it has what Delhi doesn’t ‘Sea & Safety’.  The next obvious question is Delhi really that unsafe? Honestly, I played it safe, never took the risk of staying out late, taking a walk in the park or boarding a private bus.  Call it my Delhi attitude I haven’t done it in Bombay either but I do have a sense of freedom and security to do if I wish!

On that note, today I am going to do something I wouldn’t ever do in Delhi, wear a dress, hail a cab, raise a toast with my girlfriends and forget my wrist watch at home!

 

PS: Dear Delhi, in my next post I will certainly be more nice before my ‘Delhi-zenship’ is questioned.

Entry filed under: Me in Mumbai. Tags: , , , .

Mad Man’s History Lessons: Timeline 3 by Sudhir Pai A Hospital Stay is No Holiday

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    i am a dellhilite from heart , born and brought up in delhi , still living in delhi , travelled every major city of India , but i find no change , its just people who make or break , so we are responsible for this havoc , we see but don’t do anything , its our mentality , but i love delhi and still feel its best city of India

    Reply
    • 2. delhizen  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:04 pm

      Dear fellow Delhizen, let me put things in perspective ‘ I love Delhi too’, its home! but I can’t just deny what is wrong with the city… Fix this one thing and Delhi truly will be India’s best city to live in.

      Reply
      • 3. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:15 pm

        For fixing this we need to be more vigilant , we should see what’s going on in our area , we can’t just keep our door closed in night and say hey why its happening …..

  • 4. Delhizen  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    Ok, simple question? Do you do it? Vigilant enough and keeping a check on your area?… Fix it and do read some of my Happy-I love Delhi posts !

    Reply
    • 5. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:46 pm

      Yup i do , i live in Gov accomodation , we have strict RWA , we keep eye on who comes and who go , which flat is on rent , who is staying …. we do a lot …. 🙂 ya i already read them , its nice ….. you know a lot about delhi … 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. anuj chauhan  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    And you can enjoy your life as u like in Delhi , such incidences — just show the loose loops ….

    Reply
  • 7. Kartikay  |  March 11, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Mumbbhhaaaiiii! What amazed me most was the order at a bus stop. You have to stand in line – and the conductor will not allow anyone to fill up the bus too much.

    Such order! Such non-push-i-ness! Only in Mumbai!

    Reply
    • 8. Anuj Chauhan  |  March 12, 2013 at 9:51 am

      Well i certainly accept your point of view , i had also felt this , but you should also accept my point of view that is …. in Delhi there is no single community state , its a mixture of many community , and here anyone can get job in Delhi govt or anyone from any part of India can get admission in DU , but in Mumbai , you must have studied Marathi to get admission in Colleges , or there is reserved seats for Marathi , but Delhi is different in many manners , here all are given equal opportunity …. that’s what i like ….. In Delhi no one is treated on your cast or community , but in Mumbai there are blocks like Sindhi area , Maratha area , where u can’t even rent a house or live ….. … 🙂

      Reply
    • 9. Delhizen  |  March 15, 2013 at 5:37 pm

      You know Kay, here the jams are crazy but ppl don’t drive you mad by honking. Mumbai is so Un-Delhi… Mumbai,gets a thumbs-up!!

      Reply
      • 10. Anuj Chauhan  |  March 15, 2013 at 5:54 pm

        Well , Honking … nice , but what about long jams , Bad roads , congested roads …. Delhi a better place to live at least you can afford to buy an house ….. not like in Mumbai where u will have to live hundreds of Km apart and transit all day to come for work ….. with steep rent price , no greenery , no playing grounds ….. Delhi is best for living………

      • 11. Kartikay  |  March 17, 2013 at 1:04 pm

        @Anuj – well, there are positives and negatives to everything, but you needn’t polarize a conversation with your point of view. I’m from Delhi as well but I have my reasons to not love that city as much as you. I don’t have to convince you, do I? 😀

        @Delhizen – I love the food the most! I was in Mumbai for the Kala Ghoda fest some time back, and I loved the fact that the most un-pretentious of places would have really subtle and well-made grub. Bangalore is getting there 🙂

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click-Clock

  • 37,598 hits

Posts from the past

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other subscribers

Delhizen captures

Feeds